web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Hi all,
I'm new to the forum, so please bear with me. I've had a browse through, and it seems the info I need is not posted in the forums, but often share in private so I'm hoping I can tap some knowledge and get to where I need to be.

I have a 7200 system with an MP20S processor card installed. I have the IP address details and the Tech Prog Passcode (MMC800). MMC727 tells me the software version is MP20S-SYS VERS '17.02.28 V5.01. The detail I don't have is the admin password for the Installation Tool.

So far I've tried:
- press the RST button - doesn't reset passcodes/passwords
- System Restart with Clear Memory - doesn't reset passcodes/passwords
- Browsed a million forums - no information
- Found instructions involving a specific set of MMC commands around 505, the speaker button, 900 and some other numbers. Didn't work.

I've seen some info regarding possibly gaining access through the SIO port and entering some commands in the Linux shell there, but again no detailed info online about this. I have access through the SIO port, but don't know what specific commands I would need to enter in order to gain access.

I'm not interested in seeing the current setup of this system - I simply want to factory reset and restore a backup of config I have from another broken system (I bought this one as a cheap temporary replacement for the broken one).

Is anyone willing and able to share relevant info with me that doesn't involve speaking with Samsung or a support company (because I have no relationship with either of these)?

Thank you
James

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
When you pressed the reset button did you hold it for about 10 seconds?

Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Yes. As per documentation elsewhere (both this forum and many, many others) the RST button does not reset either the MMC passcode or the admin password for the web console or Installation Tool software. The RST button did reset the IP address, but since I have the MMC passcode I was able to find this from MMC811 and change it.

For context, I've worked in IT and telecoms for 25 years, so the fact that I've resorted to posting on a forum indicates that I've done the basics, followed instructions that are generally easily found, and come to the conclusion that I need to ask those with very specific subject matter knowledge for help.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
Are you using installation tool? You need to be using osm and the correct version for your system. It should probably be on the sd card

Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
I've been trying to use Installation Tool, yes. Is osm a different management tool? I was aware there was an older software (Device Manager?) for earlier versions of the phone system firmware, but didn't know there was anything later. I have Installation Tool v1.53c - if there's another piece of management software I need could you point me to where I can download it? I checked the SD card just now and there's no software installer on it in any of the subfolders. The SD card sticker says v4.95 while the system tells me it's running v5.01, so I assume anything additional was wiped when it was upgraded (but I'm guessing on this point).

Thanks for sticking with me on this!

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,330
Likes: 7
OSDM is definitely what you want. pm sent

you sure there are no osdm.exe files on the sd card?

Last edited by pvj; 12/27/22 04:32 PM.
1 member likes this: James Dane
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2022
Posts: 9
Hi there,
Thanks for the PM - I now have access to the system and have set a new password.

there definitely wasn't an osdm.exe on the SD card - there was a DM folder, but it was empty, so perhaps it was removed at some point by the previous owner of the system.

In any case, I'm in and able to start configuring now (well, tomorrow probably).

Many thanks for your help - I shall close this thread now.

Best,
James

Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 3
Good morning everyone. I bought an officeserv 7200 from a private individual and I would like to configure it with DM but I don't have the password to connect. Can anyone help me reset my password? Best regards.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,799
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,799
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by stebimi
....Can anyone help me reset my password? Best regards.
Generally speaking it is against Forum Rules to post passwords in the Open Forum. That being said a simple Google search states the Default User name is: admin and the password is: samsung

Last edited by pvj; 03/11/23 01:19 PM.

Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 3
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 3
Thank you very much for the information. I found this procedure on google and tried it, but unfortunately it doesn't work. I read that there is a particular procedure to reset the pwd and that's why I asked in PM. I hope someone can help me and I take the opportunity to say hello cordially

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,284
Posts638,780
Members49,765
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,482 Shoretel
188,484 CTX100 install
187,104 1a2 system
Newest Members
James D., Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick
49,765 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 23
teleco 5
dexman 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
1 members (JBean3329), 64 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5