web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 12 13
#483615 05/13/05 10:19 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7
warrenh Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7
Hi. I used to have a working 1a2 telephone system. I have a bell "shoebox" ksu with power supply, and 4 line cards. I also have a melco mc-9 Combination intercom. I will post pictures of the intercom, but assuming i hook the system back up with 4 2564 telephones, how would i hook up the mc-9 ?? Thanks.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#483616 05/13/05 10:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
I can help you with this, but there's a lot to it. The first thing I will need to know is that brand of "shoebox" KSU you have; is it a Western Electric 551A, B, C or it is it an ITT 601A. Just in case you have trouble locating the information, here are some pointers:

551A is light gray, has a hinged cover which swings to the right and has a twist-lock power cord on the bottom right corner.

551B is very similar, but the twist-lock AC power connector is eliminated and just a plastic grommet is in the hole for the power cord to pass.

551C has a dark gray lift-off cover and very little visible wiring inside the unit. All wiring is behind the backplane.

The 601A has a white lift-off cover with an ITT logo at the bottom. All card slots are horizontal and are on the left side of the chassis.

While we are at it, check inside the phones for buzzers. If they are AT&T/Western Electric sets, chances are that they are there. If ITT or Comdial, the only way to know for sure is open up the sets and look. The buzzers should be connected to the yellow-orange or yellow-green pair, but actually any spare pair can be used.

Once we have this information, I can help you plenty with this. I will be out of town this weekend, but will be happy to help you early next week.

[This message has been edited by ev607797 (edited May 13, 2005).]


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#483617 05/13/05 12:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,924
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,924
Likes: 1
Dam ev is old [Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]

1 member likes this: sketchypro
#483618 05/13/05 03:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Easy there SS! I am only 43 and I started working on 1A2 when I was 14! Too bad I didn't pay attention in high school to the important stuff I would actually need to know in life!

------------------
Ed
---------
How come there's always enough time to go back and fix it a second time?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#483619 05/13/05 04:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 812
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 812
The melco for intercom will work on the power
supply 18-to 24v dc this is a talk crkt. There is not much to it. It's called basic telephone man stuff. The thing is just a tone relay providing a contact. It dosn't matter what western elect. type unit is is

#483620 05/13/05 04:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 812
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 812
If you want to run your buzzers then use the B battery....of the power supply. A combo of the both can work on any western electric power supply, as we are working on a rt type 1900 type intercoms.... I can't wait for my next service call. Besides i can make it a 19
zone unit with paging if you like.

#483621 05/15/05 01:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 287
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 287
Likes: 1
I just re-installed a 1A2 system in my home. The Melco C-19 or any 1A2 intercom system in fun to work with, I have mine turn off/on outside lights, access an outside line & even access the answering system. The circuitry I made is really quite basic. It's nice to hear 1A2 still exists other than my house. My concern is of course, parts. My biggest concern is finding a new interrupter if mine ever fails. But..on this forum I've learned there's still a few suppliers out there stocking 1A2 parts. Then of course there'e E-Bay. I don't have a schematic for the "Shoebox" KSU but do for another model with 6 line card slots.

#483622 05/16/05 01:54 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 61
contact me off board with interupter mdl. i have a bunch of old equiptment around. 1a2 even using the sanbar units were extremely hearty.

#483623 05/18/05 03:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 287
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 287
Likes: 1
I'll try to find the model number. It's a small interrupter, I've seen larger units in the larger line KSUs. I can remeber someone making a solid state replacement interrupter. I'll let you know if I can find the model number, thanks.

#483624 05/25/05 02:40 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Here's what I can tell you to get you started. All shoebox KSU's have power terminals in the same general vicinity on the lower right side of the 66 block. You will be using AG and AB for the "talk" battery and BG and BB for the "control" battery. The intercom unit should have terminals labeled the same way.

Where it gets tricky is the signaling. You will need to check your buzzers in the phones to determine what voltage they are (blue wires on the buzzer indicate 10 volt; red wires indicate 18 volt). Once you have figured out their voltage, figure out which pair in the line cord they are connected to (usually yellow-orange or yellow-green). Connect the yellow wire of this pair from each station to the LG terminal on the KSU block. Connect each of the orange or green wires to a separate "R0 through R9" output terminal on the intercom block. Connect a single wire from the "AUD SUP" or "SB" terminal on the intercom block to the KSU's terminal LB if using 10 volt buzzers or SB if using 18 volt buzzers.

Next, assuming you will be using line key #5 on the phones for intercom, connect the black-green pair from all stations to the T and R terminals on the intercom.

Lastly, you will need to connect the lamps. Connect the black-slate lead from all stations to terminal LG in the KSU. Connect all slate-black leads from the stations to the intercom's "L" terminal. Connect a single wire from the intercom's "LB" terminal to the KSU's "LB" terminal.

My memory is a bit rusty on the intercom's terminal designations, so if any of the ones I have mentioned isn't there, just let me know and I will assist you further.

------------------
Ed
---------
How come there's always enough time to go back and fix it a second time?


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 12 13

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,282
Posts638,760
Members49,764
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,432 Shoretel
188,226 CTX100 install
187,069 1a2 system
Newest Members
Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick, telecopippo
49,764 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 22
teleco 6
jc2it 4
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 96 guests, and 125 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5