web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#627572 02/21/19 04:20 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Jeb67 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
I have run across a problem with one SIP carrier that we get one way audio with MPS on yet I have two other carriers MPS/MGI works great with no port forwarding of the 40000 range.
When we turn off MPS and just use MGI(30000 range) it works just fine. Again no port forwarding is in use.
This is a 7100 with NO OAS in it. Just the 6 MGI on the MP which with IP phones limits us to 3 calls of course.
We would like to use the MPS with this carrier and save the customer the cost of buying an OAS when the system already has enough resources if MPS can be used.
I have tried Private only and Private with public and it made no difference.

Do we need to set up a port forward of the MPS range to the MP even though they originate from the IP of the MP?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
I always do the port forwarding, dont forget the rtg 45000 range along with mps and mgi.

Also look for sip alg (aka sip helper or sip nat helper) in the router and turn it off

I'd like to see a Wireshark trace, as I've had carriers ignore the port change from rtg to mps that the system sends in the past.

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Jeb67 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
SIP ALG off and consistent nat on. Same setup on all three carriers on the Firewall. We have 50+ using Sip trunks. Network guys here know the routine on that.


So do you port forward them to the Carrier? The ports originate from the system and it comes back from the carrier on something else.

I will pull a trace tomorrow(hopefully, might be Monday). The last one I did the header looked right leaving but the RTP never got back to us.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Yes, you port forward it all to the MP card's ip address. This way it will go to the correct source.

Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Jeb67 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 6
Thanks for your help! Will take a stab at it tomorrow.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
The sip messages are what I want to look at.

Basically the system and sip carrier negotiate the ports and protocol used for the call.

If you have only mgi then it will only use the 30000 range.

If you have mps enabled then the ring back tone uses 45000 , the speech uses 40000. The system sends a re-invite message to the carrier telling it to now use 40000 for the speech.

Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 23
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 23
Hy, i have the same issue with a SBC, with MPS no Audio without works fine. The Port ranges for MPS i have customize to MPS 30128 and RTG 30257, also no Audio.
The SBC use the Range 30.xxx so i Try the change port range without any Audio.

Is MPS a general issue for external use with SIP Gateways and SBC

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Is the sbc local or remote?
It sounds like a port forwarding issue.
Mps uses 4 ports per channel, mgi is 2, i think the rtg is also 2.
There are upto 8 of each on the 7100.
Mps ports in your case 30128-30159, Rtg 30357-30372
These need to be fiwarded to the mp10a.

A wireshark trace will confirm if the sbc is honouring the port change on the invite packet from the os7100.

Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 23
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 23
Hy, thank you for the fast answer.
Its a local only communication, without any NAT and no Packet Filter. Its ony routed, the SBC inside a isolated IPv4 subnet.
I can create a new Wireshark dump, currently its working without MPS.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
In that case it sounds like the sbc isn't honouring the media change.
You can try adding the ip of the sbc into mmc838.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,229
Posts638,535
Members49,751
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,326 Shoretel
186,919 CTX100 install
186,039 1a2 system
Newest Members
Housetech, MeganH, daob_sa, On Hold Concepts, TS Comm
49,751 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 7
Yoda 7
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 78 guests, and 37 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5