web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 154
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 154
Hi,

I have a question on the 501A. I would like to change the phone co ringing to intercom buzzers and ringers for intercom, to switch things up.

According to the ITT practice on page 5, to use buzzers for CO and ringers for intercom. Connect 18V ac to C48 and ring battery to C50.

Here is the link to the manul
http://www.telephonecollectors.info/strombergcarlson/kellogg/PDF/1979_K501A_KSU_PRACTICE.pdf

On block C I see two wires on each row on C48 and C50, would I need to move both? See photo.

Block C
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]



Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
I'm going to have to look at the 501 paperwork closely, but essentially, you want to replace 105V +/- on RB/RG with 18vAC & ground.

If you're not sure, turn on the system. Put a butt set or meter across RB/RG. Do you hear/see 105V? Remove the wiring and safe them. Repeat till there is no voltage on RB/RG.

Replace the wiring with 18VAC and Ground..

Test.


I'll try to look a the prints later.


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Or wait for the one "click" and watch for smoke. wink


Retired phone dude
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
Originally Posted by justbill
Or wait for the one "click" and watch for smoke. wink

Zatomic


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 659
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 659
What color wires are on your buzzers? If they're round buzzers with blue wires, they want 10VAC.

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 154
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 154
They are the round ones with blue wire.

The only part that I don't get or understand... If you have to move the wiring that is on the second row on the punch down block (second row to the left) I do get that you would move have to move the wires on the left column.






[img]https://sundance-communications.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/galleries/625591/itt-501a[/img]

Last edited by morephones; 11/19/18 01:42 AM.

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,331
Posts639,009
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,480 Shoretel
190,772 CTX100 install
189,240 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
Toner 9
tim10 8
Yoda 5
lyte 4
dexman 3
Who's Online Now
3 members (Professor Shadow, BobRobert, Yoda), 79 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5