web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#624319 10/10/18 12:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
tmeier Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
Is there a way to backup all client data in emanger or copy a certain folder? I have a older laptop with clients in it and want to copy them all to my new laptop to save from having to enter all the info in. Also is there a way to print it? Thanks

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

tmeier #624325 10/10/18 02:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
For migrating the database from one laptop to another:


Link the laptops via serial connection and use LapLink type software.
or
Copy the folders to a removable data device...Flash Drive/CD et cetera.
or
Copy the folders to your online One Drive account then download to the new location.


Really depends on what works easiest for you.
Keep the same file structure!


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
tmeier Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
Thank you, I tried copy and paste the emanager folder to the new laptop but only the existing clients that I added to test show up. Is there another location where the database is?

tmeier #624328 10/10/18 02:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Go to Maintenance > CIX Data Backup*. (*or whatever Version you are using)
• Click the checkbox next to the system you would like to back up.
• Click the “Backup” button to start backing up system. Green bars will appear to the right
showing that the backup is processing. The backup is complete when the green bars show
“Success” and a time stamp appears above the “Backup” button.
NOTE: As the system is backing up do not close out browser.

Note as to WHERE the backup file is being stored. (e.g., c:\backup.bak)


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
tmeier Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
Thank you, but im not trying to back up the CIX database. Im trying to back up all the connection info in Emanager, community names and IPs.

tmeier #624342 10/10/18 05:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by tmeier
Thank you, but im not trying to back up the CIX database. Im trying to back up all the connection info in Emanager, community names and IPs.

You need to backup the SQL database that eManager stores the site details in.

Go to your Windows start menu and go to the one called NetworkeManagerUtility under the folder is Backup Restore Database click on this
Then click on Connect
Then Backup to perform the backup which will be saved to c:\eManager2007.bak by default


To restore on the new laptop:
Copy the eManager2007.bak file to the c:\ drive
Run the Backup Restore Database program
Then click on Connect
Then Restore
Open eManager and all the sites will be there

YOU MUST HAVE THE SAME VERSION ON EMANAGER ON BOTH LAPTOPS ! otherwise it will not restore.


Regards
Carl
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
tmeier Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
Thank you, I received an error. I tried it with emanager open and closed. Any idea on this one?

[img]https://ibb.co/kB5fjU[/img]




tmeier #624383 10/11/18 06:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Are you logged into the PC with full administrator rights?
Can you try running the Backup Restore database by right clicking on it and select "run as administrator" do you get the same result?

What version eManager are you running?
What OS do you have?


Regards
Carl
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
tmeier Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 327
Thank you, I did have full Administrator rights on it. It was windows 7 and the newest version for windows 7. I just redid my list on the new computer and tried a backup with that one and it worked. I disassembled the old one for recycling so I cant mess with it anymore. Thanks for your help!

tmeier #624418 10/15/18 12:54 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Offline
Moderator-Toshiba
*****
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 937
Likes: 2
Glad you got it sorted out.
SQL permission issues can be a pain to fix so probably easier to re-create them again on the new laptop


Regards
Carl

Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,990
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,432 Shoretel
190,701 CTX100 install
189,192 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, dante2, Rupert, igor11176, hamishegg
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
dexman 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 104 guests, and 25 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5