web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#619756 05/11/18 11:52 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 294
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 294
Likes: 1
I've had a few systems with 408 cards where the Caller ID will stop working on a trunk, usually not all, just one. A system reset would resolve the trouble, I then tried just reseating the 408, that did as well. Today had a call with 5800 phones with the 8PUB-2 with the trunk option having the same thing, no CID on just the 1st trunk. The customer reset the Cable Co.'s ATA, still no CID. I reseated the 8PSUB then it was good. This has happened with different Cable Co.s, I believe they're always Arris ATAs.

I wonder if the 408 and 8PSUB-2s use the same circuitry components for the trunks - and is this a somewhat common occurrence? With some customers it may be 2 - 3 time a year it seems.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
The trunk components are pretty much the same. The difference in the cards has to do with the digital extensions. The 408 cards support the KTDs, and Platinums., but not the 5800 series. The PSUB-2s support the 5800s but not the other sets. Caller ID issues like this are pretty rare, but seem to happen more often with trunks from soft switches as opposed to traditional carriers. Sign of the times, I guess...


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 294
Likes: 1
Keyset6 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 294
Likes: 1
Yes - I'm thinking each time it's happened it was not on trunks from telco with a traditional CO, but from cable company interfaces.


Moderated by  JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,315
Posts638,924
Members49,775
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,117 Shoretel
190,320 CTX100 install
188,696 1a2 system
Newest Members
Kahm310, PeterG, lyte, 4thright, dcl
49,775 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
jsaad 4
dans 4
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 104 guests, and 49 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5