web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Warning! Updating the IP Server 900 with the beta release software will wipe out your CO programming and a few other fields. I recommend that you make a note of current programming if you intend to upgrade.

On a more positive note, WESP seems to work better after the update.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Thanks! NOTED! laugh


laugh
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
What version is it? I report it to ESI for us.


laugh
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
ESI has been notified.

More shenanigans associated with this.

I have the Mobile App set up on this system. (SIP stations,basically) After the update the App would connect, but no audio. Checked the Media Portion of the IP ASC (822) and the IP had defaulted. Reprogrammed the IP and restarted the IP ASC. BAM! SIP trunks died. WTH? Went back in, found that the IP address of the NSP (824) and the IP ASC (821) had also defaulted. Reprogrammed those. Still no SIP trunks.

Further investigation revealed that the ITSP Admin Enabled field in 2142 had switched to "false". This field is NOT available via phone, and must be accessed through WESP.

The strangest thing about all this, is the SIP trunks were working fine immediately following the update. Can you say "Buggy software"????

Software package is 4.2.10, Call processing is 25.1.4.10.

Last edited by Tucci; 04/27/17 08:01 AM. Reason: punctuation
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Beta means load on a system that is in your shop and test it. There are ALWAYS bugs in beta release software. That's why they release it. You test it and tell them what's wrong with it.

I am testing the beta release on Comm Server and, so far, all is well.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by Rcaman
Beta means load on a system that is in your shop and test it. There are ALWAYS bugs in beta release software. That's why they release it. You test it and tell them what's wrong with it.

I am testing the beta release on Comm Server and, so far, all is well.

Rcaman

If you check the website this release was intended to FIX bugs in the other release. In fact, ESI encouraged me to load this to correct the DSS lamp issues I reported back in Nov 2016. Of course they also told me at that time that there was to be an interim release to correct my issues (.7).

They definitely shouldn't release a software level that is going to reset MANY of the setting to factory default.

Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Oh, and here's another "side effect" of the upgrade. The boss calls me and tells me that the caller ID is showing a strange number on out going SIP trunks.

I check it out, and the caller ID is showing a Texas area code phone number. Plano, Texas. I'll give you one guess as to who answers that number when you call it back. That's right. ESI Tech Support. Yet another setting changed with this update. 2142, SIP account primary number and account number.

Also I got a reply to the tech support ticket I generated that says they tried an upgrade on a system they have there and there were no issues.

I guess ours is unique.

Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Tucci Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
I know what beta releases are, but to release a beta that is capable of so much destruction? Come on......

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Windows 8?

The truth is no company has the wide range of resources to test every combination of hardware and software per release. That's the reason they release beta and ask for feedback.

I agree, that was sloppy for them to leave a hot program slot with their caller ID. It almost looks like they released it before clearing out the traps.

As far as the other issues, ask them how their test system is configured and that could give you a clue as to why you are having the issues you listed.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 10
You're better off dumping the product totally because it is so way behind the times and it will never catch up....

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  5years&counting, nonameyet 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,330
Posts639,004
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,474 Shoretel
190,769 CTX100 install
189,237 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
Toner 9
tim10 8
lyte 4
Yoda 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (erniejoey, Toner), 131 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5