web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#607362 01/23/17 03:57 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
John807 Offline OP
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
I've never tried or would want to but can you add cards to an Os 7400 while it is running or must it be powered down? One of our clients wants to know, they do most of their hardware changes on their own.
TIA


John 807
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,004
Likes: 4
As long as the writing on both the card and the cabinet is blue then you can.
If either are black then no.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
John807 Offline OP
Member
*****
OP Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Hmmm The system was installed October 2015 and we would be adding a new Sli3 card. I wonder if they would both be blue, and if I would want to take the chance?


John 807
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
The system will be down for approximately 10 minutes for it to completely boot up. I suggest taking a 10 minute break from phone service and power it down to do the insert. Can't trust Samsung when they say it's hot swapable.

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 602
Samsung Moderator
*****
Offline
Samsung Moderator
*****
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 602
Like nameless said the ones with the blue model number are safe to hotswap. That came directly from Korea a while ago.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Have either of you actually tried this live? Curious

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 602
Samsung Moderator
*****
Offline
Samsung Moderator
*****
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 602
Not on a 7100 or 7200s as UNI cards are not hotswappable, but I do it all the time on 7200/7400. The only one that makes me nervous is the voicemail cards, I usually do a shutdown for those just in case.

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Alright, good to know. Still makes me a bit nervous. Don't really trust Samsung that much. Have had a lot of SD card failures lately though.

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 184
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 184
I do it on 7400's as I believe they are the only one you can do it on, like nameless said there needs to be blue writing on the system and on the card.

Last edited by Lacota; 02/03/17 01:40 AM.

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,240
Posts638,579
Members49,755
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,636 Shoretel
187,384 CTX100 install
186,173 1a2 system
Newest Members
TaniyahCobb, TDKs79, Buttinset, Housetech, MeganH
49,754 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 14
Yoda 9
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 43 guests, and 35 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5