web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 57
MEM5449 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 57
Has anyone successfully interfaced a ring-down circuit (AT&T) to a hosted VoIP provider? I have a Fire Dept that has a ring-down circuit that goes to 911 services. It operates in both directions. I am trying to find a solution (SIP gateway box??) that will allow me to replace/remove the SLT/POTs phones at the firehouse and integrate the VoIP phones with the fore mentioned RD circuit. I could see using a VoIP ATA for inbound calls from 911 services locale to the firehouse, but not for the other direction (firehouse to 911 services) because ATAs can't be programmed to auto answer (go off-hook) in order to trigger the ringdown call. Any ideas? Thanks - Mike

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Offline
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Originally Posted by MEM5449
Has anyone successfully interfaced a ring-down circuit (AT&T) to a hosted VoIP provider? I have a Fire Dept that has a ring-down circuit that goes to 911 services. It operates in both directions. I am trying to find a solution (SIP gateway box??) that will allow me to replace/remove the SLT/POTs phones at the firehouse and integrate the VoIP phones with the fore mentioned RD circuit. I could see using a VoIP ATA for inbound calls from 911 services locale to the firehouse, but not for the other direction (firehouse to 911 services) because ATAs can't be programmed to auto answer (go off-hook) in order to trigger the ringdown call. Any ideas? Thanks - Mike

I suggest you leave it as is. It can't be much of a savings and this kind of stuff works best on a POTS line.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,298
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,298
Likes: 7
Only with a speed dial number

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,796
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,796
Likes: 10
You can make an ATA dial a specific number, but you'd lose the direct-dial from the PSAP to the firehouse, unless you set something up to facilitate that. More equipment, more opportunities for things to fail; POTS lines magically still work when internet backbones take hits. The potential risk may not fly too well with EMS system. You're better off leaving it alone as John recommended

Last edited by JBean3329; 11/23/16 02:08 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,287
Posts638,784
Members49,767
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,902 Shoretel
188,981 CTX100 install
187,206 1a2 system
Newest Members
A2A Networks, James D., Nadisale, andreww, gohunt
49,766 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 22
teleco 5
dexman 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 95 guests, and 175 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5