web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#603920 09/15/16 11:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 185
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 185
I have a Group of SX-50's and SX-200 EL/ML that have issues with low volume on external Lines. ATT southwest is the Carrier. I was looking for a voip to analog provider? I will need to port my existing lines and be able to a 6 line hunt group.

I'm trying to avoid the old facilities coming into the building which is why i'd rather go voip to Analog?




Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

deadwalleye #603942 09/16/16 09:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Have you tried to resolve the issue with the existing service? The operating telephone companies must supply the customer with, at least, a minimum level of service, which includes line volume levels.

Using any testing device (SideKick, Triplett Model 7, Dynatel 965) take line and level readings. The devices will tell you if they are within standards. Mitels are usually very tolerant of low line levels, but even they have limits.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
deadwalleye #603964 09/16/16 06:36 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
See if this helps.Telephone / Line Number >

On-Hook DCV (24 to 50VDC)
Off-Hook DCV (5 to 15VDC)
Loop Current2 DCma (23 to 35ma)
On-Hook ACV3 - T to R (<.5VAC)
On-Hook ACV3 - T to Grnd (<.5VAC)
On-Hook ACV3 - R to Grnd (<.5VAC)
Open Loop going Off-Hook4 (<20ms)
CPC Open Loop Duration4 (500ms)


The only way to diagnose many problems on phone lines is to take voltage, current and circuit loss readings.
When you have a problem, by taking readings on all of the phone lines at a premise, and comparing the results to those at other premises with no
problems, the cause of the problem should jump out at you. Always take readings at premises where you aren’t having problems first, so you have a
basis of comparison, and a comfort level with your readings. Never use a tester for the first time at a premise with a problem!
If you ask the telco to take these readings, they’ll simply say “they’re fine.” They don’t care. They don’t have to. It’s your customer and your problem.
Once you have the readings that point to the cause of the symptoms, going to battle with the phone company is a lot easier. Even with these readings, you
may have to escalate the case of trouble, since the repair people at the phone company may not know what these readings mean.
NOTES:
1. When taking Circuit Loss readings for a “Can’t Hear” / “Can’t be Heard” problem you must use the 1KC (milliwatt) tone for the local CO these lines
are working from. If the lines are from a CLEC or on portability, you must find the 1KC tone number located at the CO these lines originate from. Using
another 1KC number will give you incorrect circuit loss readings and be meaningless. There is always an unknown amount of loss between COs.
If there are three or more phone lines at a premise and you have a 1KC Tone Generator, you can do a “Loop Around” test, sending tone on one
line, and receiving it on the others. Doing some math, you can get within about 10% of the actual circuit loss on the lines.
If the there is more than 8.5db of loss on a line, the phone company has to bring it up over -8.5db (except at true Rural phone companies, where they
can do anything they want to get you dial tone). Since “Can’t Hear” problems start at around -7.5db, you’ll have to change the line to a trunk (with a
minimum -5.5db spec), or find a way to amplify the line yourself (pretty much impossible).
2. The phone company doesn’t have to bring the Loop Current on a phone line down unless it’s over 110maDC. Since problems start occurring above
35ma (sometimes over 27ma), you’ll have to reduce the Loop Current yourself. If the current is below 23ma, it’s the phone company’s responsibility to
get the current up over 23ma (except at true Rural phone companies

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Thanks to Mike Sandman.

deadwalleye #603967 09/16/16 06:59 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
I suggest you obtain a Sidekick or similar testing device to run the above mentioned tests. While an experienced telephone technician can do most of these tests with a VOM and a few resistors, a true line test set takes away the guess work and makes a strong case for you to deal with the telephone company. If you have a testing device and can show the tech your results, you are much more likely to get the desired results.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,229
Posts638,535
Members49,751
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,326 Shoretel
186,919 CTX100 install
186,039 1a2 system
Newest Members
Housetech, MeganH, daob_sa, On Hold Concepts, TS Comm
49,751 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Yoda 7
Toner 7
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 91 guests, and 30 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5