web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#602107 07/06/16 01:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
I have a project that requires installing a Mule tape for AT&T to pull their fiber.

It is 3" rigid conduit and about 300' with no pull boxes running along the ceiling of a 24' high warehouse with lots of equipment in the way. There is already an existing 50pr in it. Laying in a new conduit would be very difficult due to the location.

I don't think it is airtight enough to use a vaccuum. My fishes are only 200' and 165'. I was thinking about pushing 1 in from each end and somehow entering the conduit to add a poly string to each to make the long pull. The conduit is hung on unistrut so I don't think I can pull apart enough slack to get one of the connectors off. That leaves a pipe cutter or cutting a hole to get in. neither of these sounds like a good idea.

I'm hoping somebody here has better solution.

THANK YOU

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Try the vacuum or an air compressor - you'd be surprised what will work

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Rent a Greenlee 592 blower and mouse. I have done this a thousand times and this works every time. The mouse will carry a string through the conduit. You can then back connect a rope or poly string, if you desire.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
Try a shop vac, using the blower side, and a plastic bag tried to a string.

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
I plan to go back in a couple days to try just that. I've done it before with some of a plastic baggie on the end but only on empty pipes and never so long. I'm hoping for a good result but as I said I doubt the air worthiness of the conduit on such a long run.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
It can be a challenge blowing or sucking something through a conduit with cable already in it, persistence usually pays off. I usually use duct seal on the end with the vacuum it does help.


Retired phone dude
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
I second the vacuum or blower. A 300' conduit without at least 2 pullboxes in the middle is illegal (under the NEC) - if it's used for Electrical. For Voice or Data, sleazy contractors will leave out the boxes, knowing they can't be prosecuted.

Worst comes to worst you can disconnect the 50 pair and use it to drag in a pull rope.

Sam

Last edited by Silversam; 07/08/16 06:05 PM.

"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Answer D: "All of the above."


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 337
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 337
If youre gonna try the 2 fishtapes put a birdsnest on one of them, much easier to hook

gelehu #603448 08/27/16 08:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Glad I wasn't holding my breath...


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,287
Posts638,784
Members49,767
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,839 Shoretel
188,979 CTX100 install
187,206 1a2 system
Newest Members
A2A Networks, James D., Nadisale, andreww, gohunt
49,766 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 22
teleco 5
dexman 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 116 guests, and 177 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5