web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#565615 02/03/14 11:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
I have a customer with an ADIX 8.XX software. They have 15 digital phones in their office and about 600 - 700ft away they have a plant. (There is a 50 pair running between) In the plant office there are 2 existing telephones and they want to add a 3rd. I had a free extension that I tested at the system that worked. I connected it to the 50 pair and I got the phone to work in the plant office, but when they asked me to move it to another wall I ran a piece of CAT5 and extended the phone and it won't work. I get nothing on the display, if I move it back 20ft to original jack it works, move it 20 feet away and it doesn't. This makes no sense to me at all. Could it possibly be a line length limit that I have reached? I banged my head against the wall with this one for about an 90 minutes and I finally just had to leave. Any ideas? Again this is a digital phone running off of a 408 card.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 60
It looks like you have exceeded the 1000' loop limit of the Iwatsu digital station port. You'll need the Iwatsu star repeater (IX-SREP) to extend the port's distance.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Would this IX-SREP be installed at the system or somewhere out on the line before the phone? Thank you!

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Install the star repeater (and its power supply) as close as you can to the final destination, yet still within the 1000 foot loop distance. The repeater will give you almost another 1000 feet to play with. If your loop distance exceeds that, you'll need repeater cards at the switch, and cards at the hand off inside another cabinet with a power supply. It can get ugly fast. Hope that you're just barely over the line...

Last edited by JBean3329; 02/04/14 07:21 PM.

Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 100
As it turns out I got lucky on this one. I was just barely over the 1000FT limit and I was able to splice into the line and shorten up the run by about 30ft and that was enough. Thanks again!


Moderated by  JBean3329 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,333
Posts639,024
Members49,785
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,512 Shoretel
190,827 CTX100 install
189,277 1a2 system
Newest Members
Micheal C, etel, AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert
49,784 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
tim10 9
Toner 7
Yoda 6
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (Toner), 129 guests, and 110 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5