web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#565351 01/30/14 11:15 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 524
aweaver Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 524
We have a system that for some reason is losing time. The PX Time under System Attributes is turned on. According to the manuals that setting turns on network time but it's not working. Is there a place where I need to set the NTP server?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
You need a cpu ip connection with internet access. That is the only info the manual has.

Last edited by Derrick; 01/30/14 12:27 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 457
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 457
Originally Posted by Derrick
You need a cpu ip connection with internet access. That is the only info the manual has.

Yeah that's the first question undoubtedly - is the SBX on an IP network with access to the internet? If it's just bolted to the wall and connected to POTS lines and stations, it's not going to be able to get to any NTP servers.


"There is one thing and only one thing in which it is granted to you to be free in life, all else being beyond your power: that is to recognize and profess the truth." - Leo Tolstoy
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
The SBX does not support access to a NTP server, unless this is a new feature in 4.0 that I'm not aware of.

PX Time/Day/Month enables the use of Time & Date from ISDN or analog lines using CLI.

I would try turning off PX and setting the time manually.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I guess it must be some future option to reach NTP servers. I don't see where it gets the time with just ip access.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,992
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,454 Shoretel
190,737 CTX100 install
189,211 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy, Kahm310
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (Professor Shadow, justbill), 86 guests, and 100 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5