web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#547528 03/11/13 09:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
tylan Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
I'm working on a proposal for a networked SBX to SBX system. I'm wondering if you guys can clear up some questions:

I want to have calls come into site A, and be primarily answered by 1 or 2 ext at site B and delay ring to 1 or 2 ext at site A. This seems like a pretty basic feature of networking. Can someone at site B:
1) park a call for site A?
2) xfer a call direct to VM at the other site?

If the network drops, will outside callers automatically get rerouted to the delayed destination? They aren't going to hear any type of error tone?

Secondly...
When it comes to making outbound calls using the other site's CO lines, how is it done? Can I simply make a button that grabs a CO at the other site? I'm guessing no, since the manual says you can't make a BLF for a remote CO.

Sorry for the loaded question, but the manual isn't clear.

Thanks,
Tylan



Business IT & Telephony Solutions
https://www.dsitechservices.com
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

tylan #547696 03/13/13 08:12 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vodavi, Vertical, XBlue
*****
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,136
You've got a number of parameters to address. Have you called Vertical Tech support? I'd like to see them get you off on the right foot.


- Dave S. -

You can never appease your ideologue opponents.

tylan #547766 03/14/13 01:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
1. No call parking between sites.
2. No each site has their own voice mail and it is NOT centralized.
You can have calls answered by a group at site A and ring to site B on a delayed overflow basis. If the network drops you can have co calls rerouted to a destination. Sharing co or pri lines is done by network repeat digits so you would use dial 9 access at both sites even if site where the lines originate appear on a button.

If you want station busy lamps between sites you will need the Vertical blf software installed on a pc to handle the packet traffic.

Last edited by Derrick; 03/14/13 01:16 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
tylan #547796 03/14/13 04:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
tylan Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
I'm getting mixed info from both King & Vertical on my main question...

Will a CO Call at SITE A ring 3 net extensions (SITE B) at the same time?
Can the net extensions (SITE B) overflow back to multiple extensions or a UCD at SITE A?

Last edited by tylan; 03/14/13 04:12 PM.

Business IT & Telephony Solutions
https://www.dsitechservices.com
tylan #547809 03/14/13 08:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Answer to your first question is a yes as long as you don't want the call to ring at site A at the same time also.
Answer to second question is yes, with analog lines easier than with a PRI.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
tylan #547850 03/15/13 06:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
tylan Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
Really? How interesting.

Vertical said that the CO call can only ring one NET EXT at the far end. They also said that it would take a "work around" to bring the call back.

Is there such a thing as a Net UCD - cause that would make perfect sense? Would you care to explain the programming a bit? When I look at CO ring assignment it looks like you can only plug in one NET EXT, so what they said made sense.

Last edited by tylan; 03/15/13 07:07 AM.

Business IT & Telephony Solutions
https://www.dsitechservices.com
tylan #547930 03/16/13 02:17 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 951
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 951
I am not sure but if that one net extension on the far side was then forwarded to a hunt group that may be how you do it. Just guessing


Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, New York 11757

631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Business telephone systems on Long Island and New York City like Comdial, Vertical, Avaya, Panasonic
tylan #548103 03/19/13 10:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
tylan Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
So, we can ring a hunt group across the network? Then this makes sense, but to me it looks like you can only ring a single extension across the network. I feel like I keep hearing the words "work around" from vertical without an explanation of what that work around is. This is so frustrating, but I really appreciate you guys helping fill in the blanks!

Thanks
Tylan


Business IT & Telephony Solutions
https://www.dsitechservices.com
tylan #548123 03/19/13 05:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
You can only program ringing for one net station but you can program the lines to ring and all ring group...the term work around is all about system flexibility and how you do it compared to other systems such as the XTS.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
tylan #548167 03/20/13 07:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
tylan Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 264
Likes: 1
I understand how to ring multiple stations and how to use a hunt group, but only on a standalone SBX. I also understand that you can only ring one NET STATION from the Ring Assignment.

Derrick, are you saying that the one net station I ring could be a NET UCD Group?

Last edited by tylan; 03/20/13 07:02 AM.

Business IT & Telephony Solutions
https://www.dsitechservices.com
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,331
Posts639,009
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,480 Shoretel
190,772 CTX100 install
189,240 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
Toner 9
tim10 8
Yoda 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
1 members (Professor Shadow), 74 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5