web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#545623 02/11/13 07:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Lenus Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Does anyone have recommendations for the best 1st digit to use when transitioning a Telrad system from 3 digit extension to 4 digit extensions? We plan on keep the last 3 digits of the 4 digit extensions the same as each user's current 3 digit extension. I am just not sure if it is best to use a number like '1' for the first digit or '6'?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 274
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 274
Never had a problem using 1 or 6. Are you changing because of DID's? You can look at your dn list and see what changes you would have to make. Should be easy to do.


TG
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Lenus Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks, not changing because of DIDs, rather to match a different system's schema. We will probably use 6, but if you do that what number do you suggest changing the 'Intrusion' function access code to since I believe it is defaulted to 6?

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,928
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,928
Likes: 1
I have done this many times when networking systems together. I find it very easy to use 2 even if the existing extensions start with 2. 200 becomes 2200

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Lenus Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Thanks, so would the result in your schema be something like this?

Site 1 (Headquarters)
2200-2299

Site 2 (Branch)
2300-2399

What is the advantage of using '2 as the first digit vs. '1 or '6'?

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,928
Likes: 1
Administrator
Offline
Administrator
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,928
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by Lenus
Thanks, so would the result in your schema be something like this?

Site 1 (Headquarters)
2200-2299

Site 2 (Branch)
2300-2399

What is the advantage of using '2 as the first digit vs. '1 or '6'?

I would use 3 if you have 300 extension numbers already i.e. 3300...
I do it this way because it makes setting up prefix tables much easier and when assigning sites numbers too. Plus the end user knows if Jane was 329 she's now 3329, if sue was 245 she's now 2245. Just easier to train IMHO.

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Lenus Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 81
Understood, thanks for your help.

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 5
I have a Telrad S400 with 7.36 software and an emaGEN voice mail system. Also have PRI. Need to be able to get the emaGEN to be able to transfer callers to external numbers or to provide message notification. At present, neither are working. Have done this in the past with POTS lines, but never with T-1 PRI ckts. Thanks in advance.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Moderator-Telrad
Offline
Moderator-Telrad
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,281
Try and Start a new topic next time if you can Rogers1913.

Answer to your question is: Its the same as pots lines, Check class of service so you have the restriction allowed and put a 9 in front of the number for follow me feature. In the MSG notification no 9 is required.

It shouldn't matter if your using POTS or Digital lines.

Joined: May 2013
Posts: 5
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 5
Thank you. I'll be sure to start a new topic next time. Sorry.


Moderated by  SSPhone 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,305
Posts638,893
Members49,771
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
212,858 Shoretel
189,972 CTX100 install
188,082 1a2 system
Newest Members
Mansour, Dave Simmons, Soulece, Robbks, A2A Networks
49,770 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
teleco 7
dexman 6
jsaad 5
dans 5
Who's Online Now
1 members (newtecky), 112 guests, and 33 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5