Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
OP Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
OK, I am pretty new to VoIP, as many of us here are. I have really only been working with it for the past year or so.

We have a Vodavi XTS in our office and we have a 768K Internet connection being delivered to us via a PRI. We were never successful in getting our router configured to allow VoIP, so we placed a five-port switch ahead of the router and connected our system's IP card there.

We have a remote office that has four IP phones that work off of our XTS. At that end, we have cable modem service and are using a Multitech Routefinder RPF560VPN.

The problem we are having is that the phones are incosistent and I am sure it has to do with QoS. Since we effectively don't have a router at the main office for our IP connection, we are simply using a static IP given to us by the ISP for the card. I am resonably sure that it's the router that handles the Qos, am I correct in this assumption? I am also assuming that certainly, if there's not a device that dictates packet prioritization, someone downloading a big file at the office end can be causing this.

We reach points where the phones need to be reset individually or the card in our system needs to be reset. Either way, it's a daily occurence and I am really having a difficult time explaining to sales reps. why their calls are being cut off or are garbled.

Anybody have a clue how I can solve this. Not really being good with IT issues isn't helping me here, so bear with my ignorance.

------------------
Ed
---------
How come there's always enough time to go back and fix it a second time?

Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.