web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#440599 10/22/11 01:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
I have an older OS500 rel 2 system where the carrier is asking me to change what I believe is the t202 timer on the pri card. Just wondering if anyone has ever tried this? I have never even once been asked to change this setting and don't even know if its possible.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#440600 10/22/11 03:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
I don't even know what a t202 timer is.

If you could give us a lot more information, you might get some help.

What carrier are you using, someone stable like AT&T, Verizon or a CLEC like Paetec or CBeyond? I've had some hard times with their switch people not being as proficient as real CO carriers.

I don't think AT&T would tell me they wanted to change a t202 timer, never heard of such a thing in all my years, not sure your carrier's tech has an idea of what he or she is doing.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.
#440601 10/23/11 06:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 395
Carrier is CBeyond. If you open up an OS100/500 database on your laptop that has a PRI card in it and go to PRI Control MMC, you will see the timers. They are related to the communication messages passed back and forth on the D-channel between C.O. and Samsung switch. CBeyond is trying to blame the Samsung, that it is not waiting long enough for a response from the C.O. when it makes a call setup request, which is 2 seconds. I did a little research and a 2 second wait time is the industry standard. If you look at a database on the newer 7000 series switches, the timers are no longer there.

So, just wondering if anyone else has ever been asked to change one of these timers.

#440602 10/24/11 05:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,869
I could have guessed who was behind the blame game.

In 20 years no one has asked me to change that timer so whose equipment would be at fault?

I would advise the customer, in writing, that CBeyond is requesting that you change the programming outside of industry standards, that you believe their equipment is faulty, and this is a billable service call.

I have had more problems with them than ANY other carrier and ALL other carriers put together. It is always blame someone else.


THE Bracha, old blond specialist in Rube Goldberg solutions.

Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,308
Posts638,901
Members49,771
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,026 Shoretel
190,208 CTX100 install
188,384 1a2 system
Newest Members
dcl, Mansour, Dave Simmons, Soulece, Robbks
49,771 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 19
teleco 6
jsaad 5
dans 5
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (Geli), 123 guests, and 39 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5