web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#26453 11/10/11 10:47 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
drkat Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
Hi Folks, new to the forum here. I had a question.

Would polarity have anything to do with faxing issues? I have a linksys ATA 2102 punched into a 110 to house cabling down 2 floors to a fax machine (Xerox Qube) the fax WILL NOT answer a fax from machine but if you call it it answers with tone; as well as plugging a handset into the jack you can have a 2 way conversation. Everything on this line right now is pointing to the fax machine and I wouldnt believe it's polarity - however my boss is telling me it may be polarity and well i just dont have enough education in this area to really give him a definitive answer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated


Mike A.
CCNA/CCNA Voice/ATSA-IN
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#26454 11/10/11 11:47 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
probably not polarity related but why not reverse the polarity and test it ?


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#26455 11/10/11 12:44 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Not a good way to greet a first time poster.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#26456 11/10/11 01:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,799
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,799
Likes: 18
It the fax machine set to answer?


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
#26457 11/10/11 01:32 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
I would check the fax settings also.


Retired phone dude
#26458 11/10/11 01:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
"Is the fax machine set to answer?"


Quote
if you call it it answers with tone;


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#26459 11/10/11 01:49 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,290
The OP states that it answers when called by a person, but does not answer if called by a fax machine. This is a logical contradiction. A fax machine does not have intelligence to know how an incoming call was placed.

I suspect that there is a misunderstanding of what is really happening. Until we know the exact symptoms, we will be in the dark.

I suggest that two, different, known-working fax machines be used, one at the sending end, and one at the receiving end, and see if there's a problem.


Arthur P. Bloom
"30 years of faithful service...15 years on hold"

#26460 11/10/11 02:10 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Offline
RIP Moderator-Nisuko-Tie, General
*****
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,648
Quote
I have a linksys ATA 2102
ATA = VOIP = Probable cause off Fax issues


Skip
------------------------------------

Serving SW and West central Fl since 1984
#26461 11/10/11 02:31 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,722
Likes: 18
Nice catch Skip, read right past that.


Retired phone dude
#26462 11/11/11 02:50 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
drkat Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 14
I totally agree. I was in a bit of a rush last night when I posted it and about 8 hours into "chasing ghosts" at this customer location on this fax - I was a bit pissed and frustrated at my higher ups giving me crap suggestions and I was just exhausted. (Polarity, Ring Voltages, etc) I’m a pretty knowledgeable guy but for some reason under stress and exhaustion I tend to wig out.

Basically we have a customer with 2 ATA’s – each has 1 fax line on it.

So for this explanation I’m going to use the following:

A) 555-555-1200 –
a. Working Fax Number, in place for 4 weeks no issues.
b. Connected via Linksys SPA 2102
c. Provisioned to “best practice” (ie: voipmechanic.com etc/Linksys user guide)
d. House cable connects to a Xerox WorkCentre 5500 series
B) 555-555-1201 –
a. Connects from a separate ATA configured identically to A’s ATA
b. Runs to a Xerox Qube
c. Can Send but not receive faxes

So what have we done so far on it. Well after a bunch of kicking and screaming with the customer we’ve done the following:

[ A’s ATA] -> B’s House Wiring to Xerox Qube = does not work, same scenario
[B’s ATA] -> A’s house wiring to Workcentre = works fine

We then took an older Xerox portable fax machine and plugged it into B’s house wiring at the wall-jack. Works fine both ways no issues.

It appears to just be this Xerox Qube for whatever reason – so they called Xerox support on it and they’ve adjusted baud etc etc but it is still failing.

I’ve advised to my boss’s that Xerox straight up doesn’t support faxing over voip but of course I hear it that “well we’ve got tons of deployments doing faxing with ATA’s so fix it.”

Just a few responses:

I know a fax machine doesn’t care if it’s a machine or person calling; like I said the pressure to get this fixed has me grasping at straws. I also don’t think polarity is the issue AT ALL and probably never would be since this stuff is all IC’s anyhow and the fact I can make and receive faxes/calls on the line just not from the Qube.

However when something isn’t working and my bosses / customers are asking me WHY it isn’t working – it’s a bit hard for me to explain why the fax machine isn’t answering when a fax machine dials it vs a human… ya know what I mean?

UPDATE of this morning:
Intermittent inbound fax problems on the Qube now. Seems it takes about 10 minutes to receive 2 of 5 pages after disconnect. Oh well

Frankly – I’ve advised to my higher ups that faxing over voip with ata’s is a ridiculous practice and should be avoided for commercial use. They don’t believe me of course and continue to push me and others to support this horrendous implementation.

Thanks for your time.


Mike A.
CCNA/CCNA Voice/ATSA-IN
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,284
Posts638,771
Members49,765
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,459 Shoretel
188,318 CTX100 install
187,091 1a2 system
Newest Members
Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick, telecopippo
49,764 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 23
teleco 5
jc2it 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (Carl Navarro, nfcphoneman), 134 guests, and 339 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5