web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#612278 08/30/17 10:56 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
I have a quote for a brand new IPO Basic Edition to replace the customers existing 30 year old key system. On one of the extensions in the shop, there is an external loudspeaker that has been hardwired (presumably in series) with the loudspeaker on the extension. That way when someone calls or pages that extension, the it is also heard on the overhead speaker as well.

How can something similar be accomplished using the IPO and 1416 phones?

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website


FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
If they are already using the speaker leads off the old phone why not crack the new phone and use its speaker leads? Sure you void your warranty but tell the customer up front.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
I thought of doing that, and I have done that previously on Norstar M and T series sets. Never tried that on the 1416 yet, and was just curious if there was a better approach.

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
Depending on what the paging system is you could potentially use an analog port and one of Vikings many trinkets to make it work.
But I wouldn't be afraid to use the speaker leads.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Connecting a Viking M2W to the speaker leads of a 1416 phone is the down-and-dirty-easy-peasy way out. Works fine, lasts a long time. You can use an analog station or trunk port, but you'll need adapters for that and a talk battery source if you use a trunk port.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by oobie
If they are already using the speaker leads off the old phone why not crack the new phone and use its speaker leads? Sure you void your warranty but tell the customer up front.

That's something a hack would do. We are supposed to be professionals and if I ever saw somebody do that on a new system I would curse you no end! There are trunk and station port adapters available, figure it out and use them!

ETA: The IPO has a paging feature. If you can't figure out how to use it you probably shouldn't be selling it.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Hal could not be more Correct . We are professionals not It guys.

Also use Essential Edition.

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 851
Likes: 1
Customer doesn't have a paging system, just one horn connected to this phone. He uses it so he can hear the phone ring when someone dials his extension or if someone calls the shop after hours and he is doing body work.


Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Even simpler. Night ringing bell connected to a station port. Program the extension accordingly.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,492
Originally Posted by hbiss
Originally Posted by oobie
If they are already using the speaker leads off the old phone why not crack the new phone and use its speaker leads? Sure you void your warranty but tell the customer up front.

That's something a hack would do. We are supposed to be professionals and if I ever saw somebody do that on a new system I would curse you no end! There are trunk and station port adapters available, figure it out and use them!

ETA: The IPO has a paging feature. If you can't figure out how to use it you probably shouldn't be selling it.

-Hal
Hal,
Just to be clear, I am not a hack and would not do that unless the customer told me to do so. Sorry to ruffle your feathers.
Gary

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,314
Posts638,913
Members49,773
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,057 Shoretel
190,273 CTX100 install
188,536 1a2 system
Newest Members
lyte, 4thright, dcl, Mansour, Dave Simmons
49,773 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 20
jsaad 6
teleco 5
dans 4
Yoda 3
Who's Online Now
4 members (OBT, lyte, 4thright, Carl Navarro), 153 guests, and 41 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5