web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#604773 10/14/16 02:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
sja3542 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Have a potential customer that put in a hosted system 6 months ago and isn't real happy with it (goes down every week or two for an hour or a morning). I quoted a Summit system to them at the time and it was significantly less expensive than the hosted system (in part because we didn't have to run CAT5e/CAT6 cable which the hosted system required for the VoIP phones), but they went with the hosted system because it would give the caller an indication of how long they were on hold, and because the other vendor told them that analog lines were going away and hosted was the new thing. Anyway, they have Yealink phones with the hosted system and I was wondering if anyone had any experience with adding Yealink phones to a Summit or eMG80 and if it would work? Just trying to save the customer some money so they don't have to ditch their phone sets (about 35 sets).

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi
*****
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,154
Likes: 2
You could make them "work", but it would never be satisfactory. By the time you pay for all of the SIP licenses, and extra VoIP channels, you probably won't save that much money.

Don't do it. You don't want to add to their headaches or inherit them.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I would call Vertical and see just what it would take to make the Summit 800 work..there is an inexpensive whole site license for third party sip phones available. Not sure how you would handle the outside lines.

The Summit 80 has a third party single seat license only, not site. You can buy up to 32 but for 35 phones not worth it.


www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Yealink phones are very good for Hosted. They are not the issue. It's band with or the hosted provider. I'm guessing it there service provider. How much band with and who is the carrier. Solve that and you will be a hero.

Who is the Hosted provider.

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
sja3542 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks for the responses. NFC, I agree that it might be more of a headache than it's worth trying to reuse the Yealink phones. If I was able to convince them to move them to a Summit, but then they still had difficulties, that would definitely be no fun. Derrick, I hadn't realized the whole site license vs individual seat licenses for SIP phones difference between the 800 and 80 systems, that was interesting and could come in handy and I'll keep that as an option. I may just have to set up a Yealink or two on a system and play with it to see how it works. Hitechcomm, yes, the Yealinks work fine at their office, it is definitely problems with both the internet link and the hosted provider. The internet is less often the problem. The issues appear to be almost always due to the hosted provider (hours long outages every couple of weeks, frequent dropped calls, can't hear one party or the other, features sometimes not working correctly, no one hearing the phones ring in the office but the caller has heard 5-10 rings, etc.). Going to a different hosted provider might solve quite a few of the problems. Going to an on-premise system and analog lines would definitely solve the reliability problem.


Moderated by  EV607797, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,315
Posts638,924
Members49,775
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,117 Shoretel
190,320 CTX100 install
188,696 1a2 system
Newest Members
Kahm310, PeterG, lyte, 4thright, dcl
49,775 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
jsaad 4
dans 4
dexman 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 134 guests, and 37 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5