web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#455729 04/12/11 04:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
doghart Offline OP
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Extending a DS3 from main telco to my client's telco rm, about 110' of cable needed.

What to use? Shielded RG59?

D

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#455730 04/12/11 04:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Offline
Moderator-Comdial
*****
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,328
734

#455731 04/12/11 04:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,382
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,382
Likes: 13
Type 734 coaxial cable (similar to RG59, but not exactly). Ends need to be terminated with type BNC connectors.

Don't forget that you need two cables, one for transmit and one for receive.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
#455732 04/12/11 04:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
doghart Offline OP
Member
****
OP Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Quote
Originally posted by EV607797:
Type 734 coaxial cable (similar to RG59, but not exactly). Ends need to be terminated with type BNC connectors.

Don't forget that you need two cables, one for transmit and one for receive.
Yeah, I plan on ordering 250-275' and I already have the BNC terminations from the last DS3 extend I did, but that customer provided their own cable. I just pulled it in and terminated and brought the unit online for the carrier.

Thanks for the replies!

will the cable need to be shielded?

D

#455733 04/13/11 01:49 AM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Coax by nature is shielded.

734 is good for at least 450' (some manufacturers say 600').

RG59 could only be used for VERY short runs. Better to stick to 734.

For multiple runs (i.e. From a OC-48) that are under 300' you could use 735 coax that's smaller and comes bundled.

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,327
Posts638,998
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,460 Shoretel
190,748 CTX100 install
189,217 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy, Kahm310
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 9
tim10 8
lyte 4
dexman 3
Who's Online Now
1 members (nonameyet), 69 guests, and 26 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5