web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#73828 03/11/05 08:30 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
WRichey Offline OP
Member
*
OP Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Thanks for the help in advance

I have an acs release 5 with three lines and 5 phones stand alone no back plane line 2 is connected to an alarm before getting to the system.line 2 was shorting (due to the alarm)when I got on site and repaired that they had said that line 1 and 3 would disconnect while on a call from time to time. when I asked if they noticed if the system was going down there responce was no all lights were still on. I could not simulate the problem and was wondering if you guys new of any thing like this and what it might be ??

------------------
Altcomm @ A.S.E Inc

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website


FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

#73829 03/11/05 02:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
Something to check is the modular connections into the Partner for the lines. If they are using solid wire with stranded crimp connectors you could have intermitten problems. Look at the connectors "teeth" that bite into the cable. Two teeth=stranded connector, Three=solid. Solid wire RJ's can be used on both types of wire but stranded can only be used for silver-satin or stranded wire. Check for any other loose connections like bridging clips on a 66block.

#73830 03/14/05 03:50 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
WRichey Offline OP
Member
*
OP Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Thanks for the help I checked it this weekend and the Rj11's were infact solid crips three prong and the wire was solid I guess what I will do is hang out there and try to simulate to trouble. Oh and a thought the ksu is not in the best location (external water heater closet) but the system next to it is working fine once again thanks

------------------
Altcomm @ A.S.E Inc

#73831 03/14/05 08:33 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,267
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,267
I would also check to make certain that this is occuring on more than one phone. Are they Euro phones? We have started to see a few of the Euros with hookswitch troubles.

------------------
Avaya Telephone Repair
Toshiba Telephone Repair

#73832 03/14/05 09:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
WRichey Offline OP
Member
*
OP Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Thansk I found out what it was it was the surge protection for the telco lines (also avaya) thanks again

#73833 03/14/05 11:05 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 646
I stopped using those line protectors. They have always caused trouble. If you are in a area with lightning, use the CO type carbon protectors.

#73834 03/15/05 02:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
WRichey Offline OP
Member
*
OP Offline
Member
*
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 4,096
Ya I found that the siemans CPM 2PLUS work great even though they say micro surge only they have saved one of my systems at a metal building products company 6 times can you believe that. they have been hit 6 times in the last year and all I have had to do is replace those little 5.98$ clips

------------------
Altcomm @ A.S.E Inc


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,308
Posts638,901
Members49,771
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,026 Shoretel
190,209 CTX100 install
188,384 1a2 system
Newest Members
dcl, Mansour, Dave Simmons, Soulece, Robbks
49,771 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 19
teleco 6
jsaad 5
dans 5
dexman 4
Yoda 3
Who's Online Now
4 members (Touch Tone Tommy, Professor Shadow, jc2it, Toner), 150 guests, and 38 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5