web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Hello I'm working with a kx-ta824. When a call is busy on CO1 if another customer calls it won't hunt so the VPS90 AA can pick up. It would just ring until CO1 line becomes available CO2 & CO3 both will hunt if the line is busy. All of a sudden it started not working. Any suggestions?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,381
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,381
Likes: 13
One thing's for sure: It has nothing to do with the 824. This line hunting is a service provider issue, period. Don't let them tell you anything otherwise. Key systems, regardless of brand cannot provide line hunting on POTS lines. This is always a central office feature.

Why you're receiving ringback tone when calling line one while it is busy is baffling. My guess is that the customer has somehow activated call forward-busy on that line, which overrides the normal preset line hunting.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2016
Posts: 5
Thank you for the reply. I'm probably explaining it wrong. If someone calls on line 1 and the call is answered which makes it busy and another client calls in on the same number the system/VSP won't auto answer. It just rings. Its like busy/don't answer forwarding feature isn't working. I thought that was controlled by the system??

Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,381
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,381
Likes: 13
If the lines are configured properly, and line one is busy, then the subsequent calls should roll over to lines two and three. This feature can NEVER be provided by the phone system; it is ALWAYS a service provider feature. Some even charge a monthly fee for it.

Because I am under the impression that the second caller receives ringback tone, but it doesn't roll to line two, my suspicion is that some form of forwarding code has been dialed on line one to force calls to an alternate number. This activation would always circumvent the service provider's line hunting feature.

The best thing to try is picking up on line one when it is idle and dialing *73. This will cancel any user-level forwarding that may have been activated.


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX

Moderated by  Carl Navarro, OBT 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,307
Posts638,895
Members49,771
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
212,994 Shoretel
190,185 CTX100 install
188,353 1a2 system
Newest Members
dcl, Mansour, Dave Simmons, Soulece, Robbks
49,771 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
teleco 6
jsaad 5
dans 5
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 107 guests, and 146 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5