web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
I'm having a problem with conferencing remote IP phones. I have an 8-port card with 2 modules on it and 3 extensions programmed. The customer is complaining that the audio is real choppy and distorted when they conference these extensions. I tested last week with 2 of the three and all worked fine. Today I went back and sure enough it did not work. As I was calling each individual extension the audio was clear but once I conferenced all of them together it was impossible to carry on a conversation. Could this be a problem with the IP card? Or would it be a problem somewhere else?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Its caused by network latency...ever tried calling a cell that is in the same room? The timing is a bit off...VOIP suffers from this a lot.

Last edited by Derrick; 04/05/16 08:40 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 103
Yep I know about Latency. That's not what this is. As I mentioned before when I call the individual extensions the audio is fine. It's only when I add them to the conference that the audio goes in the dumper. Any other ideas how to troubleshoot this?

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I reread your OP and discovered I missed something. You are a port short. Try conf a digital phone with any TWO ip phones and I bet the audio is just fine, go to three or two with the third off hook and talking to someone and it distorts because you need one port per active phone.

Last edited by Derrick; 04/07/16 08:34 PM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.

Moderated by  EV607797, JWRacedog, MnDave, nfcphoneman 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,284
Posts638,771
Members49,765
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,459 Shoretel
188,318 CTX100 install
187,091 1a2 system
Newest Members
Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick, telecopippo
49,764 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 23
teleco 5
jc2it 4
dans 3
dexman 2
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 108 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5