web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
My MIL has an old AT&T 5830 phone and we need to update her speed dial numbers and have no clue how to do so. She doesn't have a manual. Any ideas?

I've done a search, and there's a new phone with this number, but this is a much older model. She's not about to buy a new one unless this breaks, so that's not an option.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Manual click here you don't say how old, but this is copyright dated 2002. I saw no new AT&T phone with the same model number.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
The one we're talking about is definitely older than that. It's a putty beige color, no buttons on the base, no answering machine or other features, but apparently there's speed-dial. I should have taken a photo.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
The AT&T manual site shows discontinued but it wouldn't surprise me if it came with a different base in a cheaper model also.

At any rate this manual show a phone book only, no one touch speed dial. I'd think playing around with the menu would tell you all you'd need to know.

If the hand set is the same as the manual provided I'd think the info would be good.


Retired phone dude
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
It's definitely not just a cheaper model. I'm guessing the one she has is a 900mhz 1980's phone. It's ancient.

I didn't get to look at the handset because she was using another phone and I didn't want to pick up while she was talking, but my husband saw it on a previous visit and said that the screen was big enough for one line of text. No idea about the buttons.

Three people before me have looked at the phone and found the manual that you linked, and they gave up on it. No one wants to go with trial-and-error because she has numbers programmed in that she doesn't want to lose.

It would be easier if she just got another phone, but she's not going to do that.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
The original 5830 is so old that even Advanced American Telephones (The division of VTech that deals with at&t branded telephones) won't have the owner's manual archived.

I'm afraid that this will end up being a lost cause. frown


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2014
Posts: 7
That's what I'm afraid of, but I'm hoping someone might still have theirs. This can't be the only one still in existence. Or maybe it is.

I wish she'd just get a new one, but as long as it works, she's not going to. She's still got a corded phone in another room.

Thanks for trying.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,346
Likes: 10
You can use an app on your smart phone to decode DTMF digits, if you need to decipher those old speed dials. Then you will know the numbers programmed on the buttons, get a brand new set up, and put the numbers back in.

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
Spam Hunter
*****
Offline
Spam Hunter
*****
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 9,170
Likes: 8
I think that the problem is that the procedure for updating the speed dial presets is unknown and that the owner refuses to purchase a new cordless phone.


I Love FEATURE 00
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Online Content
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by dexman
the owner refuses to purchase a new cordless phone.

That's the problem and we can't help with stubborn. I'd still run through the menu, there's nothing to loose and you still have the "get a new one" option if you can't figure it out, besides the menu will usually pretty much point you in the right direction.


Retired phone dude
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,993
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,455 Shoretel
190,739 CTX100 install
189,212 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy, Kahm310
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
3 members (Toner, justbill, ChrisRR), 164 guests, and 64 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5