web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
@work Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Hello

We're running out of ports or jacks for our phones in the office however I was told we could setup more then one extension on one jack and setup a splitter. Is there any function for this to setup in webpro or is this something much more complicated then this?

thank you for your help

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,505
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,505
Likes: 2
You can only have 1 phone per port.

If you are out of ports, virtual extensions can be assign to any physical extension.
For this you need to call in a NEC certified tech.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 59
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 59
@work. I need some more information.
Are you running out of switch ports or telephone jacks.
If you are out of ports, you can expand the system to 84 telehones. Only 1 phone can be created for each port.

Jacks are another story. Most cable used today is 4 pair cable. you can connect 4 jacks (telephones) to 1 cable.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,439
If your system connects to a patch panel using cat5 drops to each location something like this can be used at pacth ends so you don't have to mangle your patch panel or jacks.

https://www.cableorganizer.com/black-box/cat5-cable-economizer-doubler.html?engine=google&s_kwcid=cat-5%2520splitter%7c20248093575&gclid=CN7V-In30rYCFY87MgodhREAjA



Otherwise, have a tech come out and break out the 4 pair at the jack for multiple phones.

As stated above, each phone requires it's own port.

D

Last edited by doghart; 04/17/13 08:06 PM.
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
@work Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Sorry for not being clear folks. I was talking about jacks for sure and was told they can be split per jack with a splitter for another phone. I assumed this would be already setup so I thought maybe it would be configuration with the software and/or phone...

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 83
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 83
It sounds like you're referring to the jack in the wall. (field side) Normally, wired correctly it will at least support 2 phones and if wired 568 A / B or USOC, it (a typical wall jack) can support 4 phones - We just make ours, but you could buy them pre-made too - (this is an example of an example of a "568 wired jack" to 4 separate outlets) https://www.l-com.com/ethernet-tia568b-splitter-8x8-plug-4-6x2-jacks


Last edited by djevanstn; 04/23/13 11:34 AM.
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
@work Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
yes this was for the jack in the wall. I have an idea how to do this now however I need a special phone splitter that divides the line to two "L1 and L2" Any ideas where I can go for this?

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,505
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,505
Likes: 2
Why not call in a NEC certified tech, he or she will have what is needed on their service truck that way it will be done right not Mickey Moused.


We get old too soon, smart too late
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
@work Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
because this mickey mouse likes to learn smile

don't feel too old so late, you'll feel smart real soon.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,197
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,197
Likes: 2
Well, be careful. I have had customers void their 5 year parts warranty back feeding voltage into the port and frying them.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,307
Posts638,895
Members49,771
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
212,994 Shoretel
190,185 CTX100 install
188,353 1a2 system
Newest Members
dcl, Mansour, Dave Simmons, Soulece, Robbks
49,771 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 17
teleco 6
jsaad 5
dans 5
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (dcl), 92 guests, and 155 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5