web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#621481 06/25/18 08:36 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
I need a Cat 5 tester that will locate the port a cable in connected to. I have one that will blink the link light on the switch but with all the others flashing I can never see the one that blinking. Toning will work some times but not good enough I'm getting sick of walking back and forth between PC and switch to find the cable/port. I'm also looking to get a fiber tester that will just test good/bad light source, connections and fiber. Any suggestions are welcome


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Since DTX is not a valid tester anymore the companies I have been working for migrated to Versiv for copper and fiber.

Would something like this work for you? Probably more expensive than a Super Bright LED flashlight and a volunteer on the other end.




Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
I used to use the T3 Innovations Net Prowler to chase down ports on a working active installation, I could find IP addresses, perform speed check and thruput tests, great tester, it is now distributed by Platinum Tools.

Last edited by Derrick; 06/26/18 10:15 AM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Net Prowler

"Link light to identify location on a hub/switch/router port"



Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 144
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 144
Linkrunner will get the job done if they have managed switches and it’s properly configured, haven’t heard of anything that will work with unmanaged switches.
I agree with Professor, fastest way to map the network is another set of eyes on switch side

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Retired Moderator
****
Offline
Retired Moderator
****
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,821
Net Prowler didn't care if managed or unmanaged switch, it would blink the port. You can adjust the cadence to make it easier to spot among other blinking lights.

Last edited by Derrick; 06/26/18 11:01 AM.

www.myrandomviews
"Old phone guys never die, they just get locked in some closet with an old phone system and forgotten about"

Retired, taking photographs and hoping to fly one of my many kites.
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
It is a pain, but if you document what is live, then plug or unplug what you are working on check to see the difference. Not a good way to do it, but it is effective (just time consuming)


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by Daniel
It is a pain, but if you document what is live, then plug or unplug what you are working on check to see the difference. Not a good way to do it, but it is effective (just time consuming)
This method doesn't work in a Data Center...

In a Data Center we label the patch cords on both ends with a set of "from/to", example:


From rack 10, patch panel 8, port 48 to rack 15, patch panel 2 port 2. (two labels on each end)

R10-P08-45
R15-P02-02

R15-P02-02
R10-P08-45


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,732
Likes: 2
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Offline
Moderator-Nortel, Computers, General
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 8,732
Likes: 2
I thought you were about to retire Merritt???

I rigged a 8p8c connector to tone on Pair 4. Usually can pick up the tone without issues...

Last edited by MooreTel; 06/26/18 01:00 PM.

Scientists say that the universe is made up of Protons, Neutron & Electrons. They forgot "Morons".
Dave. (CTUB) Canadian Techs Use Bix!
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by MooreTel
I thought you were about to retire Merritt???
You can retire, but you can never leave.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,992
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,454 Shoretel
190,737 CTX100 install
189,211 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy, Kahm310
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
1 members (RATHER BE FISHING), 91 guests, and 98 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5