web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
Hello all,

I'm trying to setup a new department group and cannot seem to get it to ring. When I dial it (3104) it always rings busy.

I setup

16-01: I added group 4 and set options
16-02: I set two extension up with Department group 4
11-07: I confirmed that Department Group 4 has an extension of 3104

I am stumped as to why it would ring busy when dialed despite both extensions being free. It is as if there is another place to setup that I've missed.

Thanks!!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,193
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,193
Likes: 2
The extensions can not have any forwarding features on them.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,067
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,067
Likes: 1
I would just use a virtual extension, for example x249 with a ringing appearance on those phones in question.

one time i talked to ntac about departments i was told don't bother and use the virtual extension.

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 46
I have started working with VIrtual Extensions and they appear to be able to do what I'm after. Right now I have a virtual extension where it will ring multiple phones at the same time, am I able to set it up so that it rings the phones one at a time?

With a Department Group this appeared to be based on a priority you would assign each extension. Not sure if VE's have anything similar.

I'm open to other suggestions if there is a better option altogether, InMail or something else.

Thanks!!

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 79
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 79
System needs reset for new groups to take effect.

Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
I had a system recently on V6.11 firmware which seemed to have the dept groups out of sync. Ringing dept group 1 pilot would ring phones in dept group 2, and so on. Upgrading to V7.01 cured the odd behaviour on that system, but unsure exactly why. Ringing a dept group with no phones in it, or them all busy would result in busy tone.


Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,240
Posts638,579
Members49,755
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,636 Shoretel
187,382 CTX100 install
186,173 1a2 system
Newest Members
TaniyahCobb, TDKs79, Buttinset, Housetech, MeganH
49,754 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 14
Yoda 9
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (justbill), 71 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5