web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#608925 03/18/17 07:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
I have a customer that I am preparing a quote to request their existing PBX with a hosted solution. They have an existing overhead paging system, a Valcom V-2003AHF with speakers setup in 2 zones. What can I do to interface the new phones w/ the existing paging setup and maintain the 2 zones?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

ffej010 #608930 03/19/17 02:08 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Offline
Moderator-Vertical, Vodavi, 1A2, Outside Wire
*****
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 15,378
Likes: 13
Valcom has all kinds of gadgets that will work for you. They also have fantastic technical support at 540-563-2000. You just need an IP bridge to interface with the V-2003AHF. My guess would be that their VIP802A will do what you want.

TAKE A LOOK HERE


Ed Vaughn, MBSWWYPBX
ffej010 #608943 03/19/17 09:19 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,298
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,298
Likes: 7
The Hosted provider can tell you what you need.

ffej010 #608946 03/19/17 09:40 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,796
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,796
Likes: 10
You can use the Valcom VIP-802A- it works well with hosted solutions using a SIP connection, or you could go with an ATA connected to a Viking RAD-1 remote answering device to connect the audio input to your page adapter. It's no coincidence that hosted and hoops start with the same letters...

Did I say that out loud? OOPS!


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
ffej010 #608975 03/20/17 01:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
We are the hosted provider, we have just never had to tie into an existing overhead paging system before. I was just looking at that exact Valcom part number the other day. I called up Valcom support and they confirmed that the VIP-802A would work for this scenerio. That is what I'm going to go with. Thanks all for the responses and input.

Also, in doing some Internet research, some people have used the SNOM PA1 to tie into paging systems. Anyone have any experience with those?

ffej010 #608980 03/20/17 03:38 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,423
Likes: 1
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,423
Likes: 1
I've used the SNOM box before. My customer programmed it with the system and I connected it to the paging system. Had to adapt its speaker level out to the line level input of the mixer - amp.

https://sundance-communications.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/ubb/showflat/Number/576957/Searchpage/1/Main/83195/Words/snom/Search/true/Re:_Paging_Speakers#Post576957

Last edited by jeffmoss26; 03/20/17 03:40 PM.

Jeff Moss

Moss Communications
Computer Repair-Networking-Cabling
MBSWWYPBX, JGAE
ffej010 #608991 03/20/17 06:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Using Algo 8120 SIP paging/alerter. Can be a self-contained 5-Watt speaker unit, or connect output to an Amp or Self Amplified speakers. Paging and loud ringing, 2 separate extensions for the functions.

ffej010 #609006 03/21/17 01:10 AM
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
ffej010 Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 849
Likes: 1
Valcom rep called me back later today and told me I would be better to use the VIP-821A as it would be able to pass DTMF tones to the V-2003AHF for zone paging. So that looks like what I'll be using.

Jeff...what was your impression of the SNOM?

Thanks all for the input.

ffej010 #616832 02/21/18 06:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2018
Posts: 1
ive got the same scenario here.
i was thinking of putting in yealink set to auto answer and connect the handset output -curly chord - to the input of the PA system.
this is purely theory ate the moment and will let you know if it works.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,287
Posts638,784
Members49,767
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,902 Shoretel
188,980 CTX100 install
187,206 1a2 system
Newest Members
A2A Networks, James D., Nadisale, andreww, gohunt
49,766 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 22
teleco 5
dexman 4
dans 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 157 guests, and 170 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5