web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 210
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 210
My questions is exactly as above: can the Cisco phone system handle (run) non-cisco, 3rd party SIP phones? I have a new branch office opening soon in Europe, and for a small office like that, our IT dept decided to go with Cisco phone system. But then the designer goes "those phones don't go with my design", and she has more say than the IT dept in this question. So me being the phone expert (I manage a different brand of system and never worked with cisco) got landed with the job: find a nicer phone that works with cisco. So all I need to know is can I go out shipping any 3rd party SIP phones?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Offline
Moderator-ESI, Shoretel
***
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,608
Originally Posted by phadob29
My questions is exactly as above: can the Cisco phone system handle (run) non-cisco, 3rd party SIP phones? I have a new branch office opening soon in Europe, and for a small office like that, our IT dept decided to go with Cisco phone system. But then the designer goes "those phones don't go with my design", and she has more say than the IT dept in this question. So me being the phone expert (I manage a different brand of system and never worked with cisco) got landed with the job: find a nicer phone that works with cisco. So all I need to know is can I go out shipping any 3rd party SIP phones?

If it was me i would tell them functionality is far more important than looks and have them over ride the designer.


Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,552
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Offline
Moderator-Comdial, ESI, Voicemail, Cisco
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 4,552
Well that's a first, in a business environment. I've had it happen in a large house, but never in a business. I agree with upstateny.

What version of "Cisco phone system" are you using? The large-scale CallManager will handle 3rd party SIP phones; I would assume smaller versions would too. You may give up features or ease of use, though.

Justin

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Offline
Moderator-Allworx, Nisuko-Tie, Vodavi
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,268
If the tail is wagging the dog---then just let the designer pick out what kind of phones and phone system he/she wants and then you put it in. It's up to you, then to learn the new system (whatever it may be). If you have to go through training, and purchase demo units, or go through other hoops---well that's the way the designer wants it. If the system doesn't work good--well, that the way the designer wants. What's the problem?? smile

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 54
Both Call Manager and Call Manager Express will support 3rd party SIP phones. However you are going to have to manually provision each phone, you may not end up all phone features working, and there is not going to be any support from Cisco. Add the fact that this office is in Europe and you are not this is a recipe for disaster.

If you are stuck with a Cisco system, send the designer to the Cisco page with the entire phone lineup. They might have something the designer likes better than the traditional green Cisco phone.

Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Sip is Sip, but as rcsinfo stated, you will have to go through extra steps to make them work and you may lose some features or functionality.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,159
Likes: 17
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 9,159
Likes: 17
Might want to read this Dutch.. SIP and SCCP (Cisco) are two different beasts.

https://www.differencebetween.com/difference-between-sip-and-vs-sccp/

If the system supports 3rd party SIP phones then it would require a license to use open SIP protocol. Very limited feature set...make a call, take a call, transfer, etc.


[Linked Image]
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 12
as I said, sip is sip, and you will lose features/functionality.

*When compare the features offered by SIP phones against the SCCP phones, latter has more features supported.*

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Topic is over 2 years old


Retired phone dude

Moderated by  5years&counting 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,343
Posts639,078
Members49,785
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
214,726 Shoretel
192,216 CTX100 install
190,417 1a2 system
Newest Members
gianluca, Micheal C, etel, AVO-IT, wierderal
49,785 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Yoda 10
teleco 8
R4+Z 3
dans 2
pvj 2
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 206 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5