web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Hello.

This is kind of a hardware question.

Do both the Prostar, DCS and iDCS 500 use the same 8 SLI card (KP40D-B8S/XAR)?

Thanks

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
Yes the 500 can use that card.As well as thw 8MWSli and it has its own 16Sli card.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
How about the other cards such as the:

1. 8 DLI card(DCS DLI KP40D-B8D/XAR) compatiable with both the prostar and the iDCS 500?

Will that also work on all 3 of those systems?

Thanks.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
The 8DLI yes can be used on the DCS and the 500.
Not sure what you mean by all 3 systems.

[This message has been edited by pvj (edited April 23, 2005).]

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
1. Prostar
2. DCS
3. iDCS 500


The prostar and DCS are 2 different systems right?

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
Not really.The DCS and the DCS Compact both used to have Prostar associated with the name but what you are talking about the DCS and the iDCS500 use the cards you are referring to.
Prostar aI think was the original name of the line when it came out ie analog and I think they kept it around for a while on the digital systems.Don't quote me on that though.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
So in the old days, the entire Samsung lines was referred to as the " Prostar"?

Let me ask you something.

Does the Samsung Prostar 816 use the

DLI card(DCS DLI KP40D-B8D/XAR) and
SLI card(KP40D-B8S/XAR)?

Or do you only DCS(prostar)use these parts?

I have certain contacts telling me they have a DLI card pulled from a Prostar and I'm basically trying to figure out if it will work on the iDCS 500 or not.

Thanks.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,325
Likes: 7
No it won't work on an 816 which is an analog system.To see if it will work get the part number from the person.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 114
Hello.

I think maybe the confusion is happening because of the generic use of the word "Prostar" to refer to so many different types of systems.

I had the same problem explaining the concept of DID to a tech guy who wanted to buy a true DID fax server.

There is True DID and there is routing based on the last 4 digits sent down a PRI/T1 which is used to route calls in an office but is not the same thing as true DID. However, both methods are commonly referred to as DID.


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,229
Posts638,536
Members49,751
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,402 Shoretel
186,970 CTX100 install
186,073 1a2 system
Newest Members
Housetech, MeganH, daob_sa, On Hold Concepts, TS Comm
49,751 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 8
Yoda 7
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
3 members (newtecky, Toner, BobRobert), 108 guests, and 31 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5