web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#190103 07/10/07 09:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
RRino Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
Tryin to get an IPT working off of a BIPU running through a Cisco 2600 series router. Basically we wiped out everything on the routers config but nothing we do helps. It seems that all VoIP UDP packets are getting dropped so no speech path either way however the phone will connect and DSS buttons work just no speech. Anyone know of what needs to be done in the router to allow this to work?

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#190104 07/11/07 03:27 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
RRino Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,314
Just an update, enabling 802.1p in the CIX under IP Telephony>System IP Data was the culprit in this case. Some how the priority tagging that the CIX puts on those packets caused it to be dropped in the Cisco. Very interesting since I am told that Cisco supports 802.1p. Anyone have any insight into this?

#190105 07/11/07 08:00 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 211
pmc Offline
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 211
No specific insight, just some experience. The problem isn't with Cisco (as far as I know) it's with Toshiba. Turning that on caused problems for me as well - I don't remember if it was 1-way audio or if it was no audio (like what you got).

I did it quite a while ago, and the vendo I worked with said they knew about the issue and told me not to use it. To to QoS I told my HP 2626 switch to prioritize all traffic coming from the IP address of the BIPU. My point - I could use the 802.1p from Toshiba to do prioritization. I probably could have used the DiffServ and had my switch watch for the DiffServ and prioritze that - you could probably do that with your router.

I know Toshiba has been working on QoS as I see that the new phones and the new IP cards have much more capability for 802.1p/q (as they always should have). So hopefully it is fixed. With the BIPU .... <shrug>.


Moderated by  Carlos#1, phonemeister 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,229
Posts638,535
Members49,751
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,332 Shoretel
186,919 CTX100 install
186,039 1a2 system
Newest Members
Housetech, MeganH, daob_sa, On Hold Concepts, TS Comm
49,751 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 7
Yoda 7
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 53 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5