web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#644819 05/24/23 06:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 345
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 345
So, I'm trying to use a regular door phone intercom unit with a 616.
I made the mistake of vetting my idea on a CICS so got my hopes up. The idea was to use an ata to connect a Viking e-20, have it hotline to a hunt group (broadcast) that had all the phones in it. Turns out 616 DR2 software has neither hotline or hunt groups...

I can get a DR5 cartridge easy enough, but looking at the manuals, there does appear to be the hotline capability, but not so much the hunt group.

Short of replacing it with a CICS (tempting). Any other ideas for programming this situation?

-B

Nortel Phone System Service
VoIP Demo

Nortel Phone System Service in Canada


Do you need a Nortel Phone System technician or specific Nortel parts?
Atcom to the rescue! Our telephone techs have qualified experience servicing and troubleshooting Nortel CICS, MICS, & BCM telephone systems.
Service in Canada from sea to sea.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,658
Likes: 31
Admin
*****
Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,658
Likes: 31
Yikes! That's a pretty old unit - if it's not too expensive to switch to CICS (like if you have a bunch laying around) I would say that's the way to go.

Otherwise you could probably do the DR5 software to hotline to a DN, then setup an "Answer DN" button on each phone that needs to ring. I believe that was the method the old Algo/Nortel doorphones used to specify in the manual.


[Linked Image from web.atcomsystems.ca]
Looking for a VoIP Phone Canada provider? Put Atcom's valuable VoIP expertise to work for your business today!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 40
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 40
I have used a doorbell Fon DT-28NIT and connected it to a vacant CO port which rings all the phones.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,615
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,615
"regular door phone"
But what is regular in your eyes?

Regular for me would be to use the appropriate door phone that was designed to work with the KSU, in this case a Digital Norstar Door Phone that attaches to your Norstar KSU.
Then there is the Analog Door Phone which can utilize the ATA or as ThePhoneConnection stated, a Trunk port, it is a 3rd party device therefore not a "regular door phone".

Toner is spot on with "Answer DN" method, and DR5 since DR2 does not support both Answer DN or Hotline.
So upgrading to DR5 would be somewhat of a cheaper choice, maybe add a C6 Module for Caller ID while your at it.
or
Would it be cheaper to make sure you have an analog door phone capable of using a Trunk port, if they have a spare....then it can ring any phone.

I would strongly advise to give the client the option of upgrading to CICS (with Caller ID card) anyway.
Note: If you go with a CICS, the Hunt Group programming is only exposed if you go to 3 digit DN's.


Starting with the cheapest route...
-DR2 with an Analog Door phone utilizing a spare trunk port - assign trunk to ring sets
-DR2 with a Norstar Door Phone, use the Door Phone's page chime feature and program pickup groups.
-DR2 with an Analog Door phone, install an ATA, install Aux ringer - program pickup groups.
-Upgrade to DR5 and use a Norstar Door Phone - program Answer DN or also use the Door Phone's page chime and program pickup groups.
-Upgrade to DR5 and use an Analog door phone - install an ATA, program Answer DN, program Hotline
-Going the CICS or BCM50 route.

Aux Ringer with Pickup Groups is another one to add to the mix.

It's nice to know the many methods to make it easier.

Good luck B!


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada




Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 345
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 345
Great info folks!!

Thanks so much!

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,615
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,615
I should add for those that need...

Norstar Doophone - was created for the Norstar KSU's
BST Doorphone (Business Series Terminal Doorphone) - was created for the BCM's

Compatibility:
Norstar Doophone
-All Norstar KSU's with any software versions - it will NOT work with BCM's.

BST Doorphone
-Any BCM with any release software
-All Norstar CICS/MICS KSU's with any software versions.
-All Modular (3X8, 6X16, 8X24) with software's DR2 and above - it will NOT work with DR1


=---()))))))))---=
www.curlycord.com
[Linked Image from telcopc.ca]
Toronto, Canada





Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,330
Posts639,004
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,474 Shoretel
190,769 CTX100 install
189,239 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
Toner 9
tim10 8
lyte 4
dexman 3
Yoda 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (nortelvoip, Yoda), 86 guests, and 26 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5