web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
Bob-o Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
Good morning, all--

I have a lot of 1A2 fires burning in the old system, some of which I've solved, others I haven't been able to. This is one of them.

I have a 1008B adjunct rotary (from the Autovon days and setup). It's a basic rotary that sits next to the touchtone phone, nothing out of ordinary other than matching up W/W/B/G to a different color cable coming out. Thankfully there's a BSP available and I have that.

When you hook up the rotary connections to the touchtone phone, the connection pulses, but doesn't inturrupt the dial tone. In fact, you can hear the dial tone through each pulse. From what I've been able to read, a normal rotary would be hooked up to F/RR, and GN/R terminals. The touchtone 2564 phone doesn't seem to like that.

Is there a modification that needs to be made in order to interrupt the dial tone and pulse the line? I've been studying all the schematics for the 2564, 564, 2500, 500 phones and I still come back to these terminals as where they're supposed to be, but I don't fully understand the touchtone side of the house--are there terminals to hook up to that bypass that portion of the set?

Thanks in advance!

Bob


Nothing ever happens if you don't show up!
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
Bob-o Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
So to give an update—I did an experiment and just hooked up the rotary adjunct to another rotary set, and realized that both rotaries have to be in series with each other, not parallel. So I made progress and got two rotaries to operate properly on one set. Then when taking that logic over to my 2565 set, hooking up exact way in series, it didn’t like it (volume was muffled until contact was made in rotary, etc). Long story short still looking for a work around. In the BSP it does say some modifications to make, but they are modifications to an autovon set which I don’t have.


Nothing ever happens if you don't show up!
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
Bob-o Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 48
All figured out, got it working nicely, disregard.


Nothing ever happens if you don't show up!
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Well done!

Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"

Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,329
Posts639,002
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,466 Shoretel
190,757 CTX100 install
189,224 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 10
tim10 8
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
2 members (Professor Shadow, nortelvoip), 83 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5