web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#640871 05/07/21 04:24 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
I was called out to a site today that had all of their phones go dark on them.

The first thing I saw was the controller's 3-front panel LEDs were flashing orange. I did a quick power cycle and when it came back up the CPU LED was a steady green with the system SD and optional SD off, after a couple of seconds all three would blink orange for a second and them back to the CPU LED showing green and the other two off. This continued with no end.

I haven't been able to find anything that comes close to explaining what the LEDs flashing like that mean.

Does anybody have any ideas?

They are sending out a new controller to replace this one, but I was wondering if something else is causing this


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website


FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Assuming its your customer and you have it backed up, them i would reset the unit and up load to backup.

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,667
Likes: 4
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya
*****
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,667
Likes: 4
What did System Status say? Possibly that the unit was running on backup firmware, which would mean that the SD card got corrupt..
Since a new box is coming, i would also use MANAGER and rebuild the SD card, to be safe.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,346
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,346
Likes: 10
Here's your guide to the LEDs and their meanings:
http://www.touchtonetommy.com/Files/Checking%20the%20LEDs.pdf

Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by hitechcomm
Assuming its your customer and you have it backed up, them i would reset the unit and up load to backup.

They are not my customer so no back-ups and they just told me that they have a team that will install the new controller tomorrow


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by mongo5150
What did System Status say? Possibly that the unit was running on backup firmware, which would mean that the SD card got corrupt..
Since a new box is coming, i would also use MANAGER and rebuild the SD card, to be safe.


Thanks for the reply, but I was just told that they are sending a different team out tomorrow to do the change out.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 519
Likes: 1
Originally Posted by Touch Tone Tommy
Here's your guide to the LEDs and their meanings:
http://www.touchtonetommy.com/Files/Checking%20the%20LEDs.pdf


I found that LED guide, but it doesn't cover the LED sequence that I was seeing.

It turns out the people who had me go out are going to send a different team to do the change out tomorrow.


Patrick T. Caezza
Santa Paula, CA 93060
C-7 - Low Voltage System Contractor - Lic# 992448

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,990
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,432 Shoretel
190,701 CTX100 install
189,192 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, dante2, Rupert, igor11176, hamishegg
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
dexman 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 115 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5