web statisticsweb stats Business Phone Systems Tech Talk Forum - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Hi Guys,

I am having a weird issue on my WECO 551B KSU. Everything was working prefect after punched down the station cable and the incoming Phone CO lines. Did some tests and everything was working..

After I moved the KSU to the side to clean up the mess the weird issue started. The buzzer in the phone turned on and stayed on continuously and will not turn back off. The only time its off is when a incoming line comes in and the interrupter starts up after the call is disconnected the buzzer will turn on continuously again.

I swapped phones and line KTUs and the same issue.

I am wondering if I have a open circuit that I am not seeing or not seeing what could cause this.


Any thoughts on this?


[Linked Image]


Thanks Brian

Last edited by morephones; 12/24/18 12:42 AM.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Is the buzzer for Intercom or CO signaling?

The only time a device will ring continuously is when it has battery and ground applied to both sides.

Do you have a short on the block between power (RB or 18/10V) and the buzzer?

You could possibly have a defective interruptor. I'll have to pull the prints, but you'll need to check where power comes into the interruptor and then where it's supposed to come out. Is power coming out constantly on leads where it shouldn't

It'll take me a while to find the paperwork. Sorry.


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Here is the wiring diagram...

Click me, Click me!


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Hi Guys,

Thanks for the help. The buzzer is for CO signaling and its happening on all of the 2 lines so far. Very strange that everything was working right until I bumped it. So it could be something came lose....

Power is only coming out constantly the B1 and R1 leads.


I will take a closer look tonight. I do have a extra interrupter and see if that will fix the issue.


Thanks Brian

Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Everything was working fine until the telephone man was here!

              call



Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
MYSTERY SOLVED!!!!!!

It turned out it that it was the two 400H cards, once I tried a 400E card it worked..... If I remember right, few people said that the 400H cards are not so reliable. I also had a issue with the 400D card not ringing so I am thinking that card might be bad since I only have one of those.

Thank you for all your help.


Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,795
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by Professor Shadow
Everything was working fine until the telephone man was here!

              call
I was right!


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Offline
Moderator-1A2, Cabling
*****
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 5,058
Likes: 5
Glad you found the problem!


Sam


"Where are we going and why are we in this hand basket?"
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
Moderator-1A2
***
Offline
Moderator-1A2
***
Joined: Feb 2014
Posts: 657
Originally Posted by morephones
I also had a issue with the 400D card not ringing so I am thinking that card might be bad since I only have one of those.

400D cards won't ring on most modern lines unless modified. There may be nothing "wrong" with it, other than it being made for grounded ringing which doesn't exist anymore.

There's a mod to make them work. PM me for details.

Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2018
Posts: 151
Thanks right, I just remember that you did let me know about the 400d cards a while back Chris.


Professor Shadow, with my luck something always goes wrong.....


Moderated by  ChrisRR, EV607797, Silversam 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,229
Posts638,535
Members49,751
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
210,331 Shoretel
186,919 CTX100 install
186,039 1a2 system
Newest Members
Housetech, MeganH, daob_sa, On Hold Concepts, TS Comm
49,751 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Yoda 7
Toner 7
dexman 5
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 70 guests, and 31 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5