web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#619322 04/28/18 10:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 496
Likes: 1
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 496
Likes: 1
I have a customer who owns a Macco dealership they have an Aspire M with Pots lines
They use Comcast

According to the customer the cooperate office can record all calls get reports on how many calls are answered, ect

there is no equipment on site

the local customer ordered the lines thru Comcast they pay the bill

The only thing I can think of it corporate does require them to install there MOH Source which is connected to the internet

just wondering



Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
I don't think it could be the MOH player, that just plays the corporate storecast. No way, through it's connection to the system MOH input, would there be any way for a player to receive any data from the phone system. Have you actually looked at the installation to see if there is anything unusual going on? Do the CO lines loop through the player maybe?

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,800
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,800
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by teldata1
According to the customer the cooperate office can record all calls get reports on how many calls are answered, ect
Do you suppose corporate tells that to all their franchises "to keep them in line"?


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Simple, its done in the Cloud, there are many Cloud provider that bridge on to the service provider and can do many things.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
I can't believe that an account with the cable company that is set up and paid for by the customer is going to have the lines "tapped" by a third party. I seriously doubt that the cable company even has the facilities and smarts to pull it off.

Then I'm thinking - are the numbers owned by Maaco corporate? 800 numbers perhaps? I see that there is a 1888-MAACO-USA. The call goes to them first on the way to your customer. Looks like MAACO shops have their own local numbers though so I can't see that happening.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya, Polycom
*****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 4,302
Likes: 7
I believe the end user gets additional IP address. The provider then uses them to access the system and provide the services.

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
I have no idea what an Aspire M is so I can't comment. Google only comes up with an Acer computer or a smart phone.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,800
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,800
Likes: 18
Originally Posted by hbiss
I have no idea what an Aspire M is so I can't comment. Google only comes up with an Acer computer or a smart phone.

-Hal
TIE begat Nitsuko
Nitsuko's descendants are Ultracom/Mod-Key/Onyx... et cetera.
Which begat the i-Series (384i-124i)
Which begat the Aspire
Which begat us UX5000.

NEC Aspire


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,344
Likes: 3
Ok, so after looking at the evil spawn of Nitsuko, I'm not seeing any capability to do that either.

So as it stands, if the caller calls Maaco via their 888 number and gets transferred to a local shop via one of their own numbers, yes the call can be monitored. Other than that Dean was right the first time.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
We have accounts that have listed local numbers that forward to a national call center, then come back to the local store front to be answered, all with Big Brother listening in, tracking abandoned calls, and all that data everybody seems to need these days. Causes no end of trouble with local switch settings, though, especially with disconnect supervision and other signalling. Makes blood come out my nose sometimes.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  MooreTel 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,314
Posts638,919
Members49,775
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,070 Shoretel
190,283 CTX100 install
188,553 1a2 system
Newest Members
PeterG, lyte, 4thright, dcl, Mansour
49,774 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 19
jsaad 5
dans 4
teleco 4
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 125 guests, and 27 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5