web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#612505 09/10/17 04:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
I thought I had the hang of IP office 500 but now I wonder.....

I'm not the only one working on this system and they had an intermittent problem with ext 414 that they thought was cabling. I agree this is probable as well since it goes underground between 4 building before it terminates.

However nothing is marked or documented making things difficult. Especially the 2 beaned 25 pair cross connect locations. WTF Their own guy tried swapping pairs around the 5 x-conn closets. Upshot is that extension 414 is now dead.

That's when they called us. I started at the 1408 station end to get good pairs back to the switch. Things went well until I couldn't find the final pair coming up 1 floor to the equipment room. I wanted to use the same pair as it should still be good.

Here is where it got weird for me. I went to the Administrator man ager to locate what port 414 was on and it showed 1x24. To verify which unmarked module #1 was, I plugged the phone into 1x24 and it came up as 434? I checked 1x22, and 1x23 those matched the configuration software. I then checked 434 and it shows 1x21 but a phone plugged in that one comes up ext. 125

I am stumped as to how the software configuration doesn't match actual switch?

How Is this possible?


Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website


FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!
Everything you need to know about installing, upgrading, and troubleshooting IP 500v2 and IPO Server Edition systems.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
It can do that if someone changes extension numbers in the manager without using the number change utility.

You may have to change/swap around different numbers, using the numbering tool, to get things to match properly. Found this out the hard way once...


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,345
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,345
Likes: 10
Use System Status, go to the Extensions view. You will see columns for Extension Number (what's programmed on the port), Current User Extension (the extension number currently logged in on the port), and then Name, Slot, Port, etc.


Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Thank GOD!

I though I was going crazy.

I just want to reliably know which port has which number.



NSTIW!

414 doesn't even exist in the current user extension column.

So I guess I'll find a blank and put her number on that port?

THANK YOU GUYS!!!
These were tremendous clues as I have never seen a switch lie before.

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 393
Lovely....
Now that I can see what's what it won't let me use 414 as it is in use. 434 is on that ID. It looks like they took that out to make room for the rest of the swaps. How do I unscrew this up?

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,345
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,345
Likes: 10
Renumber port 1 to a placeholder
Renumber port 2 to port 1's old number
Renumber Port 1 to port 2's old number


Brand new installation I will number my ports 7011~7018 on card 1. 7021~7028 on card 2. 7031~7038 on card 3, 7041~7048 on Card 4. 7101~7130 on Expansion 1, etc. By the number, you know exactly which card or module it is on, and which port on the card or module. Install phones, hot desk in extension number (simpler short code can be created so it's just *#xxx), then square up the actual extension numbers when you're done.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,314
Posts638,920
Members49,775
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,070 Shoretel
190,283 CTX100 install
188,553 1a2 system
Newest Members
PeterG, lyte, 4thright, dcl, Mansour
49,774 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 19
jsaad 5
dans 4
teleco 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (4thright), 114 guests, and 28 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5