web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#607016 01/14/17 12:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,231
davetel Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,231
my customer bought an xblue from amazon. they didnt know it didnt have a paging port. xblue tells me i can use a co line port with our existing bogen amp if i give it 24vdc in parallel. does the transformer go in ahead of the amp or behind the amp. thanks, dave.

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
I highly recommend that you obtain a Viking Electronics FXI-1 Paging port to CO Line interface.

From the way you asked the question, I would hesitate to try and describe how to PROPERLY design a simple circuit to provide the DC talk voltage while maintaining the proper impedance of 600 ohms for the CO trunk port.

Please don't think I am talking down to you, but you should not try and just "parallel" on DC talk voltage and expect things to work.

The FXI-1 will resolve all your problems in a nice, neat unit priced at under $100.

Rcaman

Last edited by Rcaman; 01/15/17 12:54 PM. Reason: Impedance Mistake

Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
Member
****
Offline
Member
****
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 17,724
Likes: 18
yes save yourself a lot of grief, this requires a filtered battery not just 24vdc


Retired phone dude
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Isn't the c.o. port 600 ohms?


John 807
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Yep, John, you are correct. CO trunk ports in the United States and North America are 600 Ohms real. In the rest of the world, they are 900 Ohms complex.

The point is the Viking Electronics unit will match and provide the filtered talk voltage needed for this situation.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
I've never used that unit so I guess it's switchable 600 or 900 to match?
Thanks


John 807
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,345
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,345
Likes: 3
Quote
I guess it's switchable 600 or 900 to match?

Doesn't have to match. If you want to know more look HERE and click on the manual link to read the manual.

-Hal


CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,014
Looks to me that it is a 600 ohm matching device. Says so twice in the spec.'s my guess is it is for US and North American applications.


John 807
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,716
Impedance matching really is an issue when your source is 600 or 900 ohms and your amplifier is 10K Ohms. The matching is done to reduce hum and get the signal as close to intelligible as possible.

Since the OP is using a Bogen amp, it is likely there is a Telephone paging port that would match.

Rcaman


Americom, Inc.
Where The Art And Science Of Communications Meet
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,345
Likes: 3
Member
***
Offline
Member
***
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 12,345
Likes: 3
Quote
Impedance matching really is an issue when your source is 600 or 900 ohms and your amplifier is 10K Ohms. The matching is done to reduce hum and get the signal as close to intelligible as possible.

I disagree. Gone are the days when we matched the source impedance to the load. Today it's a low impedance into a high impedance and that's both for an unbalanced and balanced line. It matters little what the source impedance is as long as it's lower than the load, all that matters is that it is at a suitable level that the particular amp input wants to see.

BUT for long balanced lines it is best to use transformers at each end that will provide good balance and an impedance match to each other. Then, yes, you do that to minimize or eliminate hum pickup and other common mode noise.

The 600 ohm impedance is for audio out of the FXI that gets connected to the paging amp input which is generally something like 10k. Nothing to do with the phone line.

-Hal



CALIFORNIA PROPOSITION 65 WARNING: Some comments made by me are known to the State of California to cause irreversible brain damage and serious mental disorders leading to confinement.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  metelcom 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,331
Posts639,009
Members49,783
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,480 Shoretel
190,773 CTX100 install
189,240 1a2 system
Newest Members
AVO-IT, wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy
49,782 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Rupert 10
Toner 9
tim10 8
Yoda 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 95 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5