Business Phone Systems

Site Sponsor: Direct Deals
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#9000 12/22/05 10:27 AM
I need help finding a good book or two that will teach me the basics of voice administration. I'm I am an experienced IT tech, but have no experience in the Voice world. I read the Avaya IP Office Manager manual today, but found it lacking in several key areas. Are there any good books that are generally recommended for newbies? I'm very technically oriented, and am not afraid to dive into a reference manual if need be. I'm looking for best practices information as well as info speficially related to Avaya IP Office switches (we have a 412).

I looked at Amazon and O'Reilly (usually a good place to start in the desktop PC world), but didn't find much except a Dummies guide, which I tend to avoid (though in this case I might give it a whirl).

Thanks for any suggestions!

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Moderator-Avaya
Moderator-Avaya
I tell you a book I still spend a lot of time in is the Newton's Telecom Dictionary.

Lots of info.

Avaya SMB Authorized Business Partner. ACIS/APSS
ESI Certified Reseller/Installer
www.regal-comm.com
If all you are concerned about is the IP Office then you need to be trained on that product. Avaya would be the place to start.

Understand that the IPO as well as the other competing IP products are a radical departure from the traditional voice world. IP systems have been designed for people like you with IT experience so understanding them should be relatively easy given your background and voice experience is not a prerequisite.