Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
No Bell Offline OP
OP Offline
I've done a search on this topic and found many references to this problem, but none with in the field solutions. So here is a partial solution!

The problem is hook switches being bad, many out of the box, on the ACS Euro style phones. I only have the original style phones installed with most of those being 18Ds. I have no experience with the newer second version.

A) In the past I have had dozens of problems with the "Hook Switch" being lethargic coming up after lifting the handset. I simply ask the user to verify the problem by manually lifting the hook switch plunger with their fingers and if the call is connected great, I know the fix. The fix I have used is simple - just increase the tension on the hook switch spring inside the phone. I do this by either torqueing the spring or repositioning an end to provide "more spring".

Now for my question:
B) Yesterday I ran into a different problem with an 18D hook switch, the phone is about three years old. I couldn't get it to hang up, i.e. it was always off hook. An inspection of the hook switch revealed what I thought was a lot of play in the plastic mechanism and the "button" push part was not loosing contact with the flexible membrain. This I believe allows the carbon button to remain in contact with the PCB traces. I cleaned the carbon button and traces and the problem got worse. It is then that I noticed what seems like abnormal play in the plastic mechanism. I will be examing more phones in the future to confirm the play issue.

Anybody out there with the similar problems? With any field solutions!

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website
IP Office Help

Avaya IP Office Help & Support Website

FAQs, documentation, videos, updates, and support for the Avaya IP Office business phone system!