web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#646183 03/27/24 10:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2024
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2024
Posts: 2
Hello all! I recently acquired a Pacific Bell payphone from a friend for $20, and admittedly I know nothing about these devices. This particular unit was covered in mud and who knows what else! I have since cleaned the entire phone from top to bottom. Unfortunately, the circuit board inside was corroded and the battery was rusted. I purchased a replacement PCB, that seemed to have the same model numbers on it, from eBay and installed it. However at this point, I am not sure what I need to do to be able to use this as a home phone. I don't care if it accepts money or not, I would just it to be able to send/receive calls. Does anyone have any advice on how I can accomplish this with the current hardware? I figured that worst case, I could install a home touch tone phone inside and wire it up. I have added a link below that has photos of my phone. Thank you!




There are 2 rules to life:
1. Don't sweat the small stuff
2. It's all small stuff
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Offline
Moderator-Avaya-Lucent, Antique Tele
*****
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 3,342
Likes: 10
Try moving the green wire from the line cord from the 'G' terminal to the 'T' terminal - those are 'R' for 'Ring", the Red wire, 'T' for 'Tip', the Green wire, and 'G' for 'Ground'.

Joined: Mar 2024
Posts: 2
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2024
Posts: 2
Thank you for the suggestion. I was finally able to give that a try this evening. Unfortunately, I still get nothing from the handset. Is there a way to test the hand piece and the buttons? I'm assuming something using a multimeter with continuity tester? If I can troubleshoot my way through, hopefully I can find a way to get it working again.


There are 2 rules to life:
1. Don't sweat the small stuff
2. It's all small stuff

Moderated by  Touch Tone Tommy 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,282
Posts638,760
Members49,764
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
211,430 Shoretel
188,215 CTX100 install
187,069 1a2 system
Newest Members
Nadisale, andreww, gohunt, Darrick, telecopippo
49,764 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 22
teleco 6
jc2it 4
dexman 4
Who's Online Now
1 members (BobRobert), 69 guests, and 128 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5