web statisticsweb stats

Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#633869 11/22/19 09:54 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
I don't sell Cisco but do a lot of trouble shooting of the phones. I get called a lot for cable problems that quite often are not the cables. Most of the time they have Cisco phones and I would like to carry a spare Voip phone that I could plug into line to prove cables and port are working. Is there a good Voip test phone out there?


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

metelcom #633870 11/23/19 11:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
I remember back in the day when you could just do a wire map to prove that the cable was not the problem and the customer was satisfied.


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
metelcom #633874 11/23/19 07:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Not any more I even have the Pocketethernet that gives me the results of each pair and if its connected to a switch plus a lot of the time I can give them the CDP info. Some ITs think Cisco never breaks when in reality it's usually the problem.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
metelcom #633881 11/24/19 11:58 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Plug someone else's phone in at that spot. If it comes up, there's the proof. If the end user has a pc connected thru the phone, is their network and internet working? If it is, you've at least proved the cable isn't the problem.



Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
metelcom #633882 11/24/19 02:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Admin
*****
OP Offline
Admin
*****
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 9,285
Likes: 6
Thats what I did the other day is took good phone to prove if it was line or phone. 3 bad locations turned out 1 bad switch connection and 2 bad phones. I would like to have something that didn't require shutting down someone else's phone. It was much easier with a single pair.


Merritt

Business Telephones & Equipment + Commercial Audio/Video Products
Commercial Communications . . . Turner, Maine
If it was built after 1980 don't expect it to work right.
metelcom #633897 11/25/19 05:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,797
Likes: 10
It's just such a pain having to provision the phone every time you want to use it. There's always some goofy setting somewhere, or something needs to be deleted or some MAC address changed. I keep thinking giving up tin cans and string was a bad idea...


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
metelcom #633901 11/26/19 11:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
[Linked Image]


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
metelcom #636204 04/02/20 12:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Do you happen to have a IP phone of your own? You can always try to connect to an outside system. Are you trying to just prove it with Cisco phone? If you can make a public IP phone connect back to your system using their poe then you have proven several things there. Working cable, switch port, poe, data passing.

metelcom #636205 04/02/20 01:12 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
This post is 6 months old...


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
metelcom #636206 04/02/20 03:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
*facepalm* I didn't even care to read the date. Maybe he still needed an idea on it. *shrugs*

metelcom #636207 04/02/20 05:08 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Retired Admin
*****
Offline
Retired Admin
*****
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,803
Likes: 18
Social Distancing applied to Forum Post...I wonder ponder


Dean
Photographs:
https://www.instagram.com/deanwilsoncanby/
https://fstoppers.com/profile/deanwilsoncanby
https://www.facebook.com/Dean-Wilson-Photography-112841337020414

Please don't confuse your "Internet Search" with my licenses, certifications and over 30 years experience.

"Thank you for calling Technical Support. If you feel you have reached this number in error, please hang up and press redial."
metelcom #636208 04/02/20 05:49 PM
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 345
Likes: 1
I''ve seen a lot of social distancing in traffic lately. so why not.


The Cloud is just someone else's computer!
metelcom #636210 04/02/20 05:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 681
Yea.... Social distancing... That's definitely it...

metelcom #636996 06/01/20 08:13 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 295
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 295
Likes: 1
We should keep a few spaces between posts.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  5years&counting 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,326
Posts638,993
Members49,781
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
213,456 Shoretel
190,740 CTX100 install
189,213 1a2 system
Newest Members
wierderal, Rupert, hamishegg, Rphoneguy, Kahm310
49,781 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 11
Rupert 7
tim10 5
lyte 4
whoami 3
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 118 guests, and 27 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers. Sundance Phone System Forums - VOIP & Cloud Phone Help
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2024
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5