Discount software from Direct Deals
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#471697 08/03/07 07:56 AM
hi everyone

Kumba this post is largely addressed to you, but any and all input is ofcourse appreciated.

Ive been in the phone industry for 2 years and have been using linux (total novice) for about six months now, just to let you know where im coming from experience wise.

Now at the advice of some friends in the know, ive decided to begin learning about asterisk.

As with so many things in linux however, i seem to get stuck before i ever begin. Im reading the O'reilly book on Asterisk and the instructions it gives for downloading the software do not work, or im doing something wrong, and it seems like everything i read tells me i need to do something different and im feeling lost.

How do i install Asterisk?
What packages do i need? libpri? zaptel? asterisksounds?
What are bison and ncurses? How do i find out if I have them already? Do i even need them?

Im using fc6 on a dell dimension 8250.

Seems like everything i read is outdated and the information i need has yet to be documented.

i prefer using a shell to gui so if the help can be given in command form that would be awesome. im trying to break free of the gui crutches, but ill take whatever i can get.

Any and all help is GREATLY appreciated.

"It is what it is." R.R.
CTP, TCTS, StrataCIX
Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada

Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

#471698 08/03/07 07:13 PM