Business Phone Systems

Support Service-Disabled Veterans!
Discount software from Direct Deals
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Hello. I'm a Systems Admin at a small (around 60 employees/cubicles) company.

I've never really had much opportunity to learn the phone system (Electra Elite IPK), so I leave it to the vendor that sold us the system to deal with phone problems and/or system programming changes.

This system uses a PRI (PRT card), we have 16 channels (1-16) in our voice trunk coming from an AdTran Channel bank.

Recently we decided to upgrade our 4 port SLI card to an 8 port card. Unfortunately at this point things go awry. It turns out the tech that installed this system, whom we always had come out to deal with problems, quit the day before the install was to happen. So the owner of the local company came out instead and did the install. He first downloaded our current hardware config database, then replaced the 4 port with the 8 port, then tried to re-upload the database. (He used SAT software, not sure what version, though our software revision on the system says, "SP1034 R4.70" for what it's worth.) According to the software, both the initial download and the upload were successful, no corruption. BUT after the upload he was unable to connect to the system with SAT, it would tell him wrong password no matter whether he tried the default password or anything else he could think of.

Eventually, he was stuck and called in the guy that quit on him. This guy is our normal guy, and he had to reprogram the system pretty much from scratch using a phone terminal. It took him a few hours, but when we left that night, everything seemed to be working as far as incoming and outgoing calls, fax lines etc.

Next morning, we start seeing these issues. They occur seemingly at random: