atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: campinfool Fire panel and POTS trouble - 05/13/10 06:19 PM
Hello folks, I would like to pick your brain about some phone line issues on a fire panel at a school. Have no idea what brand it is becasue I'm just a lowly telco tech. The customer kept reporting issues on Line 2, but all my tests indicate no trouble on the line. So we reversed the L1 and L2 at the demarc. The next day they are reporting trouble on L1 which is the same telephone number that was feeding L2 the day before. I have changed pairs on my end and rebonded every splice I can find. The alarm guys have changed parts including dialers to no avail. I have verified this number is not shared by any other CPE. Anyone have a suggestion on what to do next. Don't know much about the fire alarm industry, but I was wondering if a dedicated fire line receives a call, does it go into trouble mode even if no one answers it? Since this is a new business I'm wondering if the number assigned belonged to someone else and people keep trying to call it?
Posted By: skip555 Re: Fire panel and POTS trouble - 05/13/10 06:28 PM
who is providing the DT ?

have you looked at loop current ?
Posted By: campinfool Re: Fire panel and POTS trouble - 05/13/10 06:30 PM
It is AT&T local. I have 23ma of loop current
Posted By: EV607797 Re: Fire panel and POTS trouble - 05/13/10 06:37 PM
I doubt it is because the call is not being answered. I know that you said you have verified that there is no CPE shared on the line, but are you really sure of this? The only guaranteed way to provide this is with an RJ31X jack. I'm not doubting your intelligence, but every (I mean every) time I've encountered this, we have found some bootleg connection somewhere. When it goes off-hook to use the line, the alarm system detects this as a line trouble since it isn't officially on the output side of the alarm dialer.