atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: BWC Verizon Payphones - 08/27/15 01:53 PM
Good Morning Gentlemen.

Let me first say how much I have been enjoying this site for several years. Long time lurker but never posted.

Is their a way to contact Verizon to remove a payphone from the lobby of one of our community centers? They disconnected the line years ago but never came and removed the phone itself.

I'd do it myself but do not have the key to open the unit and access the mounting plate. (it's mounted on a brick wall)

Perhaps Ed in VA might know since I am sure he's had plenty of fun dealing with Verizon Customer Service. I am in MD and we get practically no support from them anymore even being a local government.

Apparently now, they are also getting out of providing 911 Call Center Service so The group that handles that department are looking for alternatives.

Oh how I miss the old days.

Thanks,

Brian
Posted By: gelehu Re: Verizon Payphones - 08/27/15 08:13 PM
Start sending them a bill for storage in a climate controlled ,secure,environment.
Posted By: 1864 Re: Verizon Payphones - 08/28/15 09:04 PM
It's not worth it for them to send out a tech to remove it.
A few solid swings of a sledgehammer would probably do the trick.
Posted By: Rcaman Re: Verizon Payphones - 08/29/15 03:44 PM
Just start prying from one corner with an extra large screwdriver or a pry bar and the whole thing will come off. You will have some patching to do. The phone is worth something.

Rcaman
Posted By: hbiss Re: Verizon Payphones - 08/29/15 11:36 PM
You could drill the lock but that would mess up a collectible phone. I agree with using a pry bar especially since it's mounted to a brick wall. Can't be more than expansion anchors holding it and with a little persuasion they should come loose.

-Hal
Posted By: 1864 Re: Verizon Payphones - 08/31/15 02:17 AM