atcomsystems.ca/forum
Posted By: stone88 Career advice - 11/01/04 05:14 PM
Hi all,
I discovered this message board and it seems like a good source for info so I thought I would ask about getting into the telecom field. I guess I need to know what kind of training/skills are needed to get an entry level job. There seems to be a lot of options from online courses, seminars to full blown collage courses. I have been an HVAC tech for 15 years with complex building controls being my specialty, I'm also an avid computer hobbiest self taught in hardware, software, programming and networking. I'm also pretty good with basic eletronics repair. I have been reading up on telecom basics and it seems right up my alley. Any info or advice on the pros and cons of the trade and the best way to get training would be most welcome.
Posted By: Mark K. Re: Career advice - 11/01/04 07:28 PM
To get an "entry level job" you need to be able to drag wire through a drop ceiling. You don't say why you want to change vocations, but I have to tell you, around here - an HVAC tech that can do complex building controls can command considerably more money then a telecom tech with some years of experience. To draw a comparable income you will need CTI skills (computer Telephony) which will require some years, and schooling. If you decide on a College course, please spell College correctly when you apply. [Linked Image from sundance-communications.com]
mark
Posted By: Z-man Re: Career advice - 11/01/04 08:47 PM
Welcome to the board Stone. Mark makes a good point. HVAC techs don't do too bad, depending on where your at. A bit less stress than in the telecom field as well, but telecom has it's rewards. A "collage" course may be a waste of time, most of us learned OJT. Start with some basic cable install procedures and go from there. You can be a computer whiz, but if you don't know the color code, you won't get past square one.
Posted By: Coral Tech Re: Career advice - 11/01/04 08:52 PM