Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#644551 04/10/23 05:04 PM
Joined: May 2022
Posts: 3
jaywin Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: May 2022
Posts: 3
Hi Guys
We are starting to see SD card fails starting to be more common as they get older. We have tried previously to put other brands of SD card into the processors but obviously this does not work.
Does anybody know what is required to use another SD card other than one provided by Samsung?
Thanks
Jay

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,314
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,314
Likes: 7
Your hint at what will work is what samsung used.
The blue 1gb cards were Samsung and the 2gb cards were Transcend.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,789
Likes: 9
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Offline
Moderator-Iwatsu
*****
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,789
Likes: 9
The issue is gonna be Samsung's proprietary formatting. We've never had any luck putting another brand SD card in an OS7000 switch.


Sometimes the thoughts in my head get so bored, they go for a stroll through my mouth. This is rarely a good thing.
1 member likes this: jaywin
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,314
Likes: 7
pvj Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Executone-Isoetec, Samsung
*****
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 2,314
Likes: 7
No problem using. Transcend card as long as it's 2gb. Never seen this proprietary format being an issue

1 member likes this: jaywin
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 91
Likes: 1
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 91
Likes: 1
I've been successful cloning the SD card. I use Macrium Reflect and have 2 SD card drives. I put an original Samsung drive in one and clone to a new SD card in the second. The size of the drive doesn't seem to matter much; the last ones I did were SanDisk MicroSD 32GB (with the SD Adapter). Once you clone it'll be the same size as the original. I've used these already in 2 systems where the original SD card failed.

I clone it with the software still on it and then replace the software later with whatever version I require. Use whatever SD card is the least expensive as you'll lose the extra space after the clone.

1 member likes this: jaywin
Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 19
Member
Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2023
Posts: 19
For the FAT16 Formatting i use every time this tool without any issues.
https://de.minitool.com/partition-manager/danke-fuer-download.html?v=pw-free&r=downloadcenter/

On MP10a i have cards active with a 4GB partition, and its working. Better an Production save its a 2GB FAT16 Partition.

The Similar issue have the SVMi CF Card or HDD, this is not a FAT16 its a FAT8 Partition, the latest tool was can create this, i Remember (Windows 95 Edition A) newer Editions not can Formatting with FAT8. When its read over modern tools shows every time as FAT16.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 4
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Offline
Moderator-Samsung
*****
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,000
Likes: 4
I created a ghost image of the svmi so I could take this image onto a new hard drive.

The svmi-e cards ran pc dos from memory. You could use fat16 as long as you then used the sys command to make it bootable then unzip the scmi files and off you go


Moderated by  nameless, pvj 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,115
Posts637,994
Members49,726
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
205,777 Shoretel
183,664 CTX100 install
183,209 1a2 system
Newest Members
Jackie22, Griffin, Paso Telecom, goalieonyxvs, kb8doa
49,726 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 13
Yoda 6
OBT 5
tim10 5
Who's Online Now
3 members (mike0051, Toner, Professor Shadow), 21 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5