Business Phone Systems

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#643405 08/29/22 07:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
We have all IP phones. Trunks and DID numbers are delivered via PRI.
The phones display caller ID name and number on the phone display just fine.
The Eventide call recording equipment is recording the audio by using a span port on the switch, getting data from the other switches with phones.
But the CID data is not being logged. The Eventide tech did a Wireshark capture today and does not see any CID info.

The CID data being displayed on the phones should be picked up by the recorder. But it’s not. I’ve put a phone on the same switch as the recorder and also set 35-01-01 to LAN, and 35-02-13 to be checked and still no luck.

Thank you.
Jim

Atcom VoIP Phones
VoIP Demo

Best VoIP Phones Canada


Visit Atcom to get started with your new business VoIP phone system ASAP
Turn up is quick, painless, and can often be done same day.
Let us show you how to do VoIP right, resulting in crystal clear call quality and easy-to-use features that make everyone happy!
Proudly serving Canada from coast to coast.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
If they are supposedly capturing the call data in the SIP stream from the phone..THEY are failing. That simple. I have done these with other call recorders and have zero issues. NEC uses a modified SIP stream to their handsets but the data is all there. Run your wireshark on the NEC and show them their folly.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Still working on this. It took a while for support to be able to show me the cid data in the wireshark file. It's in the NOTIFY message under the Message body. It contains the cid info that goes to the phone display.

The call recording guy can see this in Wireshark. But his equipment apparently does not. So it will probably be a finger pointing match because the non-standard sip stream isn't recognized by their stuff.

Jim

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Pretty sure CID in NOTIFY stream IS standard.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
I'm sure you're correct, Coral Tech. I've heard "non-standard" lately so I incorrectly applied it here.

We are getting the recorder guy and IT guy together to see what they can come up with. Standby!

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Call recorder guy and IT guy spent some quality time together on this. They did not come up a solution.
The caller ID info is not present in the sip invite message header, which is where their software needs to see it.

After a couple of calls to NEC support, I talked to someone that said NEC proprietary sip is not going to be in the invite. We need to have a recorder that can understand NEC sip, or the recorder currently in place needs to be correctly setup to handle this.

The recorder is an Eventide Nexlog DX. The company tech that installed the recorder says they have had Eventide looking at this, with no results. They are already using the NEC template.

NEC and Eventide are both very big companies. I don’t know why it is so difficult to make their equipment work with each other. This can’t be the first time this scenario has happened.

Jim

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Look at USB call record. Best bunch of guys I have ever worked with. The fact they don't interface with NEC means they are missing a LOT of business.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Wish it was that easy. This recorder also records (successfully) radio calls and 911. Lots going on here. That's why I find it so hard to accept that they can't make this work out of the box.

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Member
*****
Offline
Member
*****
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,174
Likes: 2
Ya, it would be weird they can't fix the code. You know you could always try and use a standard SIP phone and see if that works. Pretty sure you can flash NEC phones for that. Although SIP phones are rather limited.

Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
Yoda Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,368
Likes: 5
I'm not holding out any hope that NEC will change anything. Support told me as much, and if they aren't using standards that others can use, well, . . . I'm hoping that Eventide will come through.

Support mentioned standard sip phones too. Don't really want to go down that rabbit hole. New install, lots of phones that should be recorded, etc. More expense on the job that just keeps on taking. :-)

Just venting now. Thanks for listening. Let you know what develops.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  ttech 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Forum Statistics
Forums84
Topics94,117
Posts637,996
Members49,726
Most Online5,661
May 23rd, 2018
Popular Topics(Views)
205,779 Shoretel
183,664 CTX100 install
183,209 1a2 system
Newest Members
Jackie22, Griffin, Paso Telecom, goalieonyxvs, kb8doa
49,726 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
Toner 12
Yoda 6
tim10 5
OBT 5
Who's Online Now
2 members (mike0051, GDRoach), 7 guests, and 23 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Contact Us | Sponsored by Atcom: One of the best VoIP Phone Canada Suppliers for your business telephone system!| Terms of Service

Sundance Communications is not affiliated with any of the above manufacturers.
©Copyright Sundance Communications 1998-2023
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5